Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I thought that this casserole was good based on the changes I made, if I had made this as-is, I would have ended up with a very bland casserole. I used pimiento rather than red pepper to skip having to chop, I enjoy pimiento in casseroles anyways. I omitted celery as I had none. I added a bit of sage and thyme in addition to the oregano. After baking the casserole I stirred it, adding additional sour cream, with a pinch of nutmeg and a tsp of brown and serve, heating it through for about ten minutes in the oven. After these changes we all enjoyed it. As per previous reviews complaining of crunchy asparagus, fresh asparagus is crisp and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I used a little more chicken (maybe 1½ cups) and I omitted the red pepper (my husband doesn't care for it), but followed the recipe otherwise. Well, I mixed everything together instead of layering, but the taste would have been the same.... And we weren't impressed. It seemed like a waste of asparagus as its flavour was overwhelmed by everything else. I think we would have preferred it more made with spinach and the asparagus on the side. We just didn't really care for it. But thanks for sharing, Kathy. With tweaking, it might be more to our taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I used cream of chicken soup instead of chicken stock which gave it a nice flavor. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Excellent! Our family loved this. Added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Something went wrong and it was all runny, but the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I almost feel guilty reviewing this recipe because I changed it up so much! But the basics were there - chicken, asparagus, sour cream, parmesan and noodles. What I changed was in response to the reviews as to it being runny. Instead of using chicken stock, I used a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also sauteed the asparagus along with the onions and added garlic and mushrooms, omitted the red pepper (yuck!). Then instead of putting it in a casserole, I dumped it all in a crock pot and cooked it on low for 5-6 hours. Turned out great - flavor wasn't bland at all and it was saucy instead of soupy. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This needs to be doubled.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
So bland, there was not enough flavor for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Husband rated it before I even got a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States