Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
i made this tonight and look forward to leftovers. i followed the rcp pretty closely with these changes: 2 cups chicken, doubled broth & sourcream, added bottled garlic, paprika(sweet) and several bold dashes of tabasco to the simmering sauce. yes, the sauce is a bit runny when first presented, but i had none left on my plate when i was done. when reheated, the extra sauce will probably keep the dish from drying out. don't precook asparagus unless you like it mushy. next time i'll include diced tomatoes, scallions & a diced jalapeno. try this and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Maybe this recipe has potential, but as is, it seems very bland to me. I added two cloves of garlic, a can of cream of chicken soup, some processed yellow squash (I try to sneak in veggies whenever I can), plus some salt and pepper. I tried it as soon as it came out of the oven, and, even after the additions, it still turned out quite tasteless. So, after it cooked, I added basil, quite a bit of garlic powder, more cheese, and stuck fresh mushrooms throughout, then put it in the fridge. When I heated it back up, I let it cook long enough for the 'shrooms to cook. It was better, but not outstanding. Still needs some zest (not the soap). I will peruse the reviews to see if anyone has good suggestions to zing this up a bit. I think this has potential to be a four-star recipe, but only two stars as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt M.
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe, but the rest of the family didn't like it as much. I had increased the seasonings and added significant garlic and onion powder, but it could use a little something extra. I also added sour cream for more moisture and shredded parmesan in the casserole. Also mixed it all together as others suggested. Also needs additional baking or pre-steaming/cooking of asparagus for asparagus to not be so crunchy. Overall, good...but needs many adjustments for flavor, cooking and assembly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
So I'm rating MY version of the recipe b/c it did end up significantly different from the original. I did about 6 or 7 chicken tenders. I also used whole wheat pasta too. I used about half a bunch of asparagus, a half can of vegetable broth, red pepper, and dried onion, garlic and celery flakes and the oregano. I was out of sour cream, so I ended up substituting a package of lite cream cheese. I also didn't have any parm, so I used what I had, which was pizza cheese. And despite all that, it really turned out quite good. I think next time I would do a little more chicken and asparagus in the mix and up the spices just a smidge. Surprisingly, I really liked the cream cheese in it! I also left it covered for 20 minutes to help keep the noodles moist, and uncovered it the last 5-10 minutes. Oh, and I threw on some bacon bits as an afterthought when I took the lid off. That seemed to add just enough flavor without making it seem too bacon-tasting. I definitely will be making this version again with the few tweaks I mentioned! Thanks for a great place to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I just made this recipe last night for the first time. My family loved it. I was fairly easy. I would only suggest adding maybe 1 teaspoon kosher salt while assembling it, sprinkle over chicken mixture. I used "light" sour cream and I added 3 different cheeses on top of the casserole, which just added to the flavor. I used Asiago, Parm and Romano. I would also add 1-3 fresh pressed garlic cloves to the saute next time. I pulled up this recipe because I had all the ingredients and wanted to try something different. It worked out great!! I use a recipe as a "base" and add or take away items as I deem fit, I try to always put a healthy spin on recipes I try. My family is trying to eat as healthy as possible. I would recommend this recipe and we will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really good! I did take the suggestions from others and cut down on the chicken stock and add a can of cream of chicken soup. I also threw in the asparagus with all of the other veggies to cook. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was an alright casserole. Definitely edible but not super. I think I didn't like the oregano. I used whole wheat rotini and that worked great. I cooked 2 chicken breasts in the olive oil then tossed in the onions, 3 cloves of garlic until tender. Then I added in the rest of the vegetables. I used 1 cup of chicken stock and brought to boil then covered and boiled for a few minutes to steam the asparagus. I used the 1/2t of oregano and also added a generous sprinkle of pepper and some cayenne. I added some flour in with only a cup of sour cream. I didn't have Parmesan so I used monteray jack and mixed some in with the casserole and then topped with some more. I didn't use layers, I just mixed it all together. It was a nice looking casserole, colorful and fairly healthy. I might try it again but omit the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4L&D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Ew, no...this wasn't what I expected. My asparagus ~ very thin so it wouldn't be tough ~ was just that. Tough. We didn't care for this at all. Sorry! I really did want to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I served this casserole for a holiday party with 12 ladies. It was festive with the green asparagus and red bell pepper and everyone enjoyed it. I topped it with toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Really liked the flavor and color of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States