Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Yummy summertime casserole! I used greek plain yogurt in place of sourcream because thats what I had on hand. I only had 5 ounces of it so I guestimated the difference by adding milk and flour. The sauce was watery and I should have tweaked it more before putting it all together in the oven. I didn't have celery either so added some green bell peppers. I also added garlic, red pepper flakes, lemon pepper, cumin. My husband and I enjoyed this casserole and he had seconds which is saying something. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Seriously D'lish especially with what you have in your fridge which is what I had to do. I used Chicken Breast Tenders that I sauteed in Garlic, Onion and EVOO. I then Simmered the Asparagus, Celery and Carrot together with chicken stock and a lil more EVOO, and a splash of balsamic vinaigrette. I cooked up the egg noodles and when they were done I only had less than a 1/2cp nonfat sour cream so I improvised and added 2 tbs of Mayo with olive oil to the sour cream. I mixed the veggie/chicken mixture in with the egg noodles, added a dash of celery salt and placed in my pampered chef's baking dish and sprinkled lowfat colby/jack cheese about 1/2 cp, and a scattering of parm on top. I then topped it with Paprika for lil spice and color. I baked at 350 for 25 min and let it set out for 5 min before serving. Served with a salad of romaine and green lettuce and chunks of tomatoes with Balsamic Vinaigrette. This was very filling, and my five yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I found this absolutely flavorless. In the end I had to add a can of cream of mushroom soup to save this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish - I made just a few changes from the original. I had just over 1.5 lbs of chicken (Perdue breasts) which I partially cooked on the stove in a little bit of olive oil (I did season the chicken w/ salt, pepper, & a little paprika). Then cut into pieces and added to celery/peppers (I used green, not red)/onion mixture. I did use a chicken bouillion to make broth and didn't find the dish too watery at all. I also added garlic powder to the mixture. Mixed everything into a 9 x 12 pyrex (didn't "layer). Then cooked as suggested. My asparagus was thin to begin with so came out very nice after 30 min in the oven. I didn't get the celery and probably wouldn't include it again. Probably overdid it on the parmesan, but we like cheese in this family :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenessa French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was really delicious! I used carrots instead of the red peppers and for liquid used a can of cream of chicken soup, a half cup of milk and about a half cup of sour cream. I cooked it for about 40 minutes and it turned out great. Even the cat liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My whole family liked this receipe even my finicky 7 year old. The only exception to the receipe is that I didn't have sour cream so I used Cream of Mushroom Soup. As well next time I would saute the asparagus a bit in the chicken broth before baking - it was far to crispy for our taste buds. But overall everyone said a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe, except it's missing something that would make it 5 stars, maybe some mushrooms or some other spice; I'm not sure since I am just starting out. I added some garlic and used fat-free sour cream, but it still needs more. My husband liked it, and he doesn't usually like asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was just okay. A good way to clean out the fridge, but I'm not keeping this in my permanent file. I did add a splash of white wine, minced garlic, and a can of mushrooms to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States