Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
As others, I agree this recipe needed a boost. I cooked it according the directions and it was runny and bland, but the basic ingredients are great. I used broccoli that I partially cooked instead of asparagus. I would cut the sour cream at least in half next time. I heated up a can of cream of celery soup with about a half can milk, melted a cup of shredded cheddar, a tblps plus of horseradish, poured over the casserole, mixed together and added Italian bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I used cream of mushroom soup and a little milk instead of the chicken broth as others said it was runny. I cooked the asparagus for about 10-15 mins before I put it in the casserole and it was still a little hard. Next time I think I would use another veggie like broccoli. The flavor was ok but it felt like something was missing, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This dish was scrumptious. I followed the changes that Shannon C suggested in her review. I made this the night before to take to a pot luck dinner. I had used 12 ounces of noodles because it’s what I had on hand and also used Cream of Celery soup. The mixture seemed too thick before putting it in the oven so I lightened it up with some more sour cream. When taste tasting it, I discovered that this recipe was delicious cold. I decided to go ahead and cook it as per the recipe. However, my sister-in-law and I both agreed that this dish was better cold than hot. I will continue to make this recipe, but only as a cold salad. This will make a lovely addition to my salad luncheons during the warm months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I seasoned my chicken with garlic, season salt and pepper prior to cooking. If you dont season your chicken, I imagine this dish would be very bland. I did steam my asparagus for a few minutes so that it was nice and tender. I assembled the casserole the nite before I intended to bake it, and just added the cheese when I was ready to pop it in the oven. It was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This recipe was scrumptious! It got rave reviews by my family and will become a regular addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This was great! I listened to others and steamed the asparagus first and added some pepper and extra locatelli cheese when serving. Thanks for a truly wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a great meal when slightly altered, even my picky hubby liked it. I boiled the chicken to cook it, and added 2 boulion cubes. I used that as my chicken stock. I also boiled the asparagus for a few minutes in the stock, before adding it to the mix. I sauted the celery with the onion and added 2 cloves of garlic. I also added salt, pepper and basil along with the oregeno. My biggest diversion from the recipe was the addition of cream of mushroom. When I added the sour cream, it became very grainy and watery, so the cream of mushroom definitely helped. I think any cream of would do. I mixed everything together, and didn't layer it as described. finally, I topped it with a fancy shredded parm and romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is a great recipe and not difficult to make. I followed some of your reviews & added some garlic, salt & pepper. Also steamed the asparagus before putting in the casserole. It tasted just as good when we had the leftovers for tea the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Great recipe that's a bit different. I too made some changes. Microwaved the asparagus just a bit to soften somewhat, also added garlic salt, basil instead of oregano. Along with the parmesan cheese some shredded Monterey Jack as a topping as well as the first layer, this also helps thicken sauce. I think you can adjust this even more with any spices or veggies that appeal to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I had never had fresh asparagus before trying this recipe. Now I can't go back to canned! My husband loved this recipe. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States