Fresh Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I make this often - love it. I use low fat soy milk and greek yogurt. I usually consider 2 "bundles" of asparagus to be equal to one pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Excellent! Even if you don't have a blender or food processor to get the full creamy consistency the taste is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is the best asparagus soup I have made. We topped it with a little bacon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was o.k. but a little too creamy. I followed recipe but used "no chicken" broth and greek yogurt. Next time I'll use less soy milk and yogurt and more broth, that way the asparagus flavor won't be too diluted either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very, very tasty! My family loved it! I tried this recipe using broccoli too. Same outcome! I have also added a little cheddar to the mix. Nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Pretty good. I thought it would be better made with half & half and 2% milk, and sour cream instead of the soy milk and yogurt. Made this way it was too heavy tasting. However, I did boil the veggies covered with a lid and my soup was smooth and not stringy at all. Next time I will follow the recipe, but probably still not use soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
awesome! I loved this - but did tweek a tiny bit with half-and-half instead of soy milk and five-blend Italian cheese instead of Parmesan (as that's what we had on hand). My son (not much of a cook at 26 years old) even asked how HE could make it at home for himself :o) We've shared with the neighbors who loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Simple and yummy! I used asparagus and leaks that were in this week's box from our local crop share. Per comments, I chopped the veggies small and simmered for about 20 minutes. Since I didn't have yogurt or sour cream on hand, I used an allrecipes substitution of 1 tablespoon lemon juice in 1 cup of heavy cream which supplied the tartness. At this point I let it cool and put it in the refrigerator until we were ready for dinner. Then I reheated it and use the immersion blender again before finishing with the lemon juice and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I really enjoy this super healthy soup. I use more asparagus than it calls for. I make sure it is cooked until mushy. It tastes even better the next day. A great way to sneak in veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I just made this, and had to run back to the computer to review - it is delicious! I am on weight watchers and it's 3 points per serving, which makes it a great addition to my recipe book. I used 2% milk instead of soy and nonfat greek yogurt. I also kept adding water to the veggies as they boiled so they could cook for at least 15 minutes. My asparagus were quite thick and I wanted to make sure they were completely soft. When I blended the veggies I let the blender run for about 5 minutes to guarantee a soft texture. The soup came out velvety and smooth, with a creamy texture and a little tang from the yogurt and the lemon. You would think I had used a ton of heavy cream! I look forward to experimenting with other flavors in this soup, like roasted garlic or curry powder. A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States