Fresh Apple Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet but I want to ask a question: can you prepare the apples in this recipe for use in a pie instead of a tart? Thanks in advance to anyone who answers this question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
What a great tart. Very pretty and easy to make. I used some allspice and nutmeg along with the cinnamon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I didn't make the pie crust, since I had a crust in the freezer I wanted to use up, so I'm not rating the crust today. I also didn't use a top crust as a result. This is a nice little recipe for apple tarts. I just made one apple tart instead of several. My only complaint is that the apples take a while to bake down and I'd like a little more sauce or something with it, but otherwise this is a nice recipe. When I am out of pie crusts, I'll try the crust and top crust from this recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Having just made this recipe for the second time, I'm wondering if this isn't actually my favourite pie crust. Here's my original review from a couple of months ago: I was very happy with these tarts, and I only made two minor changes to the recipe: I didn't have unsalted butter so I just didn't add the extra salt and I used maple sugar instead of brown sugar, but since the flavour didn't really come through next time I probably just use brown sugar. I should note that I did have to flour up the work surface and the rolling pin pretty well to keep the dough from getting to sticky, but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I think part of the problem some of the users here have is because the recipe does not tell you to keep the butter as cold as possible - this is the clue to any great pie crust - butter should stay cold, cold, cold. The best thing to do is mix all the ingredients lightly then balling it up and letting the crust sit in the fridge (to get the butter cold again) and then quickly work the crust for the tart. Doing this the crust worked fine and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thought these were lovely. Did not find the dough hard to work with, but then I often add more or less flour depending on how dry or sticky it is (usually need to add a little more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was terrible. I couldn't even get the dough to work, it was so greasy and flimsy. I ended up having to scrub the counters to get all the butter off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I liked this recipe but I made a lot of changes. I used pecans, apples, brown sugar and maple syrup. I also used prepared tart shells and just pulled up the edges to make them fold over. They were a hit at my meeting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
These were the worst apple tarts I've ever had. The dough was terrible and very difficult to fold over the apples. The only thing I liked in this recipe was the mixture of apples, brown sugar, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
this is the best apple tart i have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States