Fresh Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This recipe is now a holiday favorite with my family and friends. I bake it in an angel food cake pan and it works great! In my opinion, it serves more than 14. We eat it for breakfast as well as dessert. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
really yummy! Beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I chose not to make this recipe because I didnt have the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This was so-so. The cake was just a little bland, maybe adding more spice to the mix would help. It was also pretty heavy, and tended to dry out quickly when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
WOW!! This cake is so great, you just have to try it! I did make one change...I didn't have ground cloves, so I added an extra tsp of cinnamon. This HUGE cake bakes to a very dark color and has a very moist texture. I made a simple glaze using milk and powdered suger which I drizzled over the top. PERFECT PERFECT...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! This one is definitely going into my permanent recipe box! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I added an extra 1/2 tsp of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves and I added a 1/2 tsp of allspice. I was afraid it would be too dry, but it turned out really good. It wasn't a moist cake, but it wasn't too dry either. The flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This cake is wonderful! Just the thing for a breakfast cake in place of muffins. I added cinnamon to the apples, used all brown sugar in the cake batter, switched the proportions of wheat to white flour. I baked it in a 9 x 13 glass cake dish, topped with oatmeal streusel, for 20 mins at 400 and turned the heat down to 325 for 55 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made some alterations, it still tasted GREAT! (At first I thought, 'This looks like a lot of work.' And, 'What's a tube pan?' I didn't want to wait an hour and a half to be able to eat it so I made muffins with it & THAT only took about 26 minutes wait. ;) It really wasn't THAT much work & SURE WAS WORTH IT! (After consulting with my mother, we suspect a "tube pan" is like a bundt cake pan.) OH! PS 3/8 CUP = 6 TABLESPOONS . . . right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Excellent bundt cake...even better with cream cheese frosting. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I listened to the other reviews and doubled the spices on the recipes which made it very tasty. I also used cream cheese frosting to melt on the top and allow to drizzle down (right after removing from pan). The cake itself is good with or without the frosted top but is rather dense and BIG. A small piece was rather filling for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States