Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I apoligize in advance, because I truly don't enjoy giving recipes a bad rating and fortunately in the past, I haven't had a reason to do so. However, as soon as this dough was completed I told my husband that it had an odd odor but refrained from telling him what I felt it smelled like, only because I wanted to give the cake a chance to bake. When it was almost done, I put in the cake tester, took a sniff and realized that the baking time had not improved the aroma. I took the cake tester to my husband and asked him to tell me what it smelled like and it was as if he had read my mind. Again, I apolize, but it smells and unfortunately tastes like, well, I hate to say it, but like Playdough. Maybe it's all the oil, I don't know, but I know I'll never make this cake again. So sorry....really:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Awesome apple cake recipe! Be ready for a rich apple cake here, maybe decrease the vegetable oil to 1 1/4 C. but otherwise a melt in your mouth, moist, richly flavored traditional apple cake that you can take anywhere and people will be licking the plate for the crumbs! Chef Marian Thompson Certified Pastry Chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent Recipe!! Made a few alterations: I soaked the raisens in Rum, and then removed the raisens, added a 1/4 a cup of brown sugar and 1 tbl of cinnamon sugar. Cooked it over the stove for about 5 minutes till thick. Then poured the sauce over the apples and the raisens and let them soak while I made the cake batter. I also put a crumb topping on the top of the cake! Turned out wonderful!!! Light and moist!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAYLABELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Like previous reviews, I cut oil down to 1C and used 1/2 C of apple sauce. I used a bundt pan and drizzled cream cheese frosting on top. I also omitted the walnuts and used chopped pecans on top....It was excellent and the presentation was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Wonderful cake! I made a few adjustments - cut oil to 1 cup, added 1/2 cup applesauce and cut sugar to 1 1/4 cup - and it turned out very moist and flavorful. I also used egg substitute and skipped the frosting. Cake was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
It is awesome!!! I made a few changes--I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, added an extra cup of apples and I added 1/8 tsp cloves. I also used my own cream cheese glaze. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. The cake is moist, flavorful and simple to do. It give the aroma and taste of the holiday season and people will think you spent hours making it. A must try for anyone who loves apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Excellent! just like my grandma's recipe, which I couldn't find. I did cut back on the oil about 1/4 cup and replaced it with applesauce. I also made it in a 9x13 pan so I didn't need to cook it as long...only about an hour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was a very good recipe. As others suggested, I made a few changes: I used only 1 cup of oil and substituted 1/2 cup applesauce in for the missing oil. I didn't put in walnuts, raisins, or nutmeg, because I don't care for them. I baked it in a Bundt cake pan- it only took 1 hour to bake, not 1 1/2 hrs in that pan- so watch your cake while it is baking. I didn't put on any frosting either. Altogether- a wonderful cake. It was not complicated to make, it baked up well, and it tasted good when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States