Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cake was a hit with everyone. It's an unusual cake--a lot of "stuff" (apples, walnuts, and raisins) and the cake holds it all together, like a chunky fruit cake but much better. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used only 1 cup of oil. I didn't add any applesauce because I didn't have any. I cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 45-50 minutes, which I felt was a tad too long. I was waiting for the cake to pull away from the sides, but by the time that happened the cake was a little overdone. Next time I'll try 35-40 minutes and undercook it by a couple of minutes. Don't disgrace this cake with storebought icing--make your own! Cream Cheese Frosting II from this website goes great with this cake, only cut the amount of cream cheese in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Like a few others, I cut the oil to 1 c. and used 1/2 d. applesauce. I would use more diced apples next time but overall everyone really enjoyed it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this cake yesterday night it was a hit , I followed the recipe by heart it's not sweet it is moist inside it is soooooo delicious definitely I will bake this for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khryz79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Love this recipe I as well decreased the oil and I also added more apples, and walnuts but decrease the raisins since all I had on hand were from walmart and they seem to sweet and wanted to decrease the sweetness since it already had 2 cups of sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guardmom2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ilion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Good easy recipe. Friends loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget L. Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thank you for such an excellent recipe. Loved it and my family can not wait until the next one. We have an abundance of apples here in Denmark this year, so I will be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great recipe would reccomend to anyone it was another great cake recipe, also instead of walnuts I used pecans they worked just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Zeman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is a favorite of my family. But instead of oil I used butter, 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar double the cinnamon and put in 3 tablespoons of milk. much lighter in color and taste. P.S. make your own frosting bacause the one at the store was a little too sweet but good all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really, really good. I left out the raisins and nuts and frosted with my own homemade cream cheese frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Why use the vegetable oil substitute it for butter, worked for me, the cake also takes on a lighter texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noddy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States