Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ngood
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Without qualification , BEST apple cake I've ever had. I used 1cup canola oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. Baked in 10"tube for 70 min. Used the walnuts and raisins too. And fellow bakers , if you can peel, core, and chop apples, measure and mix the ingredients into a home-made-with-love cake --- PLEASE spend a few minutes making a glaze! No canned icing. I used the simple cream cheese icing another reviewer cited , and it was perfect. (4oz cr cheese , 2 C xx sugar, 1T milk, 1tsp vanilla --mixed and microwaved to glaze consistency ). My only change was to add a couple tsps is corn syrup for a nice glossy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ngood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this cake it's delish. If you used fresh veg. oil it should not have any foul odor. Mine smells of cinnamon and apples. It was done in 1 hour. Going to use a thinned down cream cheese (homemade) frosting and drizzle down the cake. I also added 1/4 cup water because the batter seemed too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Thanks for the recipe Carolyn! Pretty east to put together and the cake had a nice texture and flavor. I cut oil to 1 C and added 1/2 C applesauce. Skipped the creamcheese frosting and used powdered sugar. I used 3 GrannySmith apples for this. Baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 50 minutes @ 325. Going in the rotation! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This cake has become a family favorite! I did follow what some others had done. 1 cup of oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, increased cinnamon to 1tsp, and omitted raisins & nuts per my kids request. I did make my own cream cheese frosting recipe that I use on my carrot cake and red velvet. Perfectly moist bundt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcarolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Luv this recipe...I had some friends over for high tea and this was a wonderful accompaniment. Everyone enjoyed it...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn L. Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have made this cake at least 8 times and each time is the best cake to date, it stays moist with the fresh apples and simply incredible. I have not changed a single item except I do not ice this cake it is fine without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
easy to make tast great. great for those who do not like the icing or glaze which includes one of my grandsons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Just like my Great Aunt Billie made. I made two cakes because some people do not like the nutmeg but it brought back memories of going to my and Great Aunt Billie would bring this to the party grandpas house on his birthday. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Burton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This cake is delicious. I did not make any alterations to the recipe and it came out perfect the first time I made it. I am baking another one today. I definitely will be adding this to my collection of Fall/Thanksgiving recipes. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
nice recipe...was looking for a way to get rid of my apples and bake using my Nuwave oven...and this recipe sounded the best. I modified it a bit. I added 1/2 cup of water because the dough was to hard for me to mixed but the water helped a bit. (However, cake looks like it could have been even better without extra water, probably cooking time would have been lower) Also, didn't have walnuts around, so couldn't add it. Cooked it for 40-45 mins on Nuwave oven. Checked with a knife (didn't have a toothpick). Let it stand for a few minutes before eating. Used 10 inch pan and cooked it on the 1 inch rack for Nuwave users. Cake rose a lot compare to what i was expecting though, but didn't go over the pan. Loving this recipe and the Oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States