Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
My neighbors loved it will make it for bake sale nice alternative to carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Awesome apple cake recipe! Be ready for a rich apple cake here, maybe decrease the vegetable oil to 1 1/4 C. but otherwise a melt in your mouth, moist, richly flavored traditional apple cake that you can take anywhere and people will be licking the plate for the crumbs! Chef Marian Thompson Certified Pastry Chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
Everytime I have made this cake I get rave reviews. It is especially good in the fall when the apples are at the peak of their season. I make my own frosting but this is even good with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I apoligize in advance, because I truly don't enjoy giving recipes a bad rating and fortunately in the past, I haven't had a reason to do so. However, as soon as this dough was completed I told my husband that it had an odd odor but refrained from telling him what I felt it smelled like, only because I wanted to give the cake a chance to bake. When it was almost done, I put in the cake tester, took a sniff and realized that the baking time had not improved the aroma. I took the cake tester to my husband and asked him to tell me what it smelled like and it was as if he had read my mind. Again, I apolize, but it smells and unfortunately tastes like, well, I hate to say it, but like Playdough. Maybe it's all the oil, I don't know, but I know I'll never make this cake again. So sorry....really:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This cake is delicious; however, it is not the easiest to make. Lots of work invloved. It is well worth the effort and hopefully my boyfriend knows how hard I had to work. He loves it. This cake helps you to appreciate box cake mix and high wattage mixers. Great Recipe. I will make it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Wonderful cake! I made a few adjustments - cut oil to 1 cup, added 1/2 cup applesauce and cut sugar to 1 1/4 cup - and it turned out very moist and flavorful. I also used egg substitute and skipped the frosting. Cake was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The cake turned out very good and moist! My husband (an apple fanatic) thought it was great! My children loved it especially with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent Recipe!! Made a few alterations: I soaked the raisens in Rum, and then removed the raisens, added a 1/4 a cup of brown sugar and 1 tbl of cinnamon sugar. Cooked it over the stove for about 5 minutes till thick. Then poured the sauce over the apples and the raisens and let them soak while I made the cake batter. I also put a crumb topping on the top of the cake! Turned out wonderful!!! Light and moist!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Excellent! just like my grandma's recipe, which I couldn't find. I did cut back on the oil about 1/4 cup and replaced it with applesauce. I also made it in a 9x13 pan so I didn't need to cook it as long...only about an hour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States