Fresh Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
WHAT A JEWEL OF A CAKE. THIS IS A WONDERFUL MOIST CAKE. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO THE T AND YOU WILL NOT FAIL. ONLY THING IS. IF I WERE YOU I WOULD DOUBLE THE CARAMEL ICING RECIPE BECAUSE YOU WILL EAT 1/3 OF IT BEFORE YOU GET IT ON THE CAKE. I USED REAL BUTTER IN THE ICING INSTEAD OF THE FAKE STUFF. BELIEVE ME IT MAKES A DIFFERENT IN TASTE. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Gotta a lot of compliments on this cake. Everyone said it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I made this last night for Rosh Hashonah dinner and it was a major hit. Not at all like the apple cakes I had grown up with. I followed the suggestions of others and added cinnamon to the recipe and a little more apples than suggested. WOW! Moist, delicious and the caramel icing just took it up a notch (to quote someone else). This one is a keeper and will be used year round. Thanks Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
absolutely incredible! I used 6 Macintosh apples and 2 cups of chopped walnuts - it took about 45 minutes to cook. Otherwise the recipe was perfect, and the cake was a huge hit. It's been requested by many that I make it again next week for another party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This cake was fantastic. Everyone loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was such a great dessert! My family loved it! I made it for thanksgiving. Howvever, I did sub. 1 cup of apple sauce for the oil and used only 1/4 cup of oil instead. I also had to cook it for about 5-10 mins longer. Other than that it was so good, every family will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this cake for a co-workers Birthday and it was a huge hit, it's so moist it's unbelieveable, the one thing thats wrong on the recipe though is the time to bake it, It took 60 minutes not 25 so make a note of that.. I also made the caramel sauce the night before, left it in the saucepan all night to cool then frosted the cake the next morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this for my family for dinner because I was looking for a recipe without chocolate in it because my Dad is allergic to it. Everyone loved it-especially the yummy icing. It was delicious. Next time I will try to make-it over to be healthier, but it certainly tasted great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caramela
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was very delicious. I didn't make the frosting (I don't think it's needed, the cake is pretty sweet on its own). Nevertheless, I did had to add a little spice to make it more flavorful. I ended up modifying it to taste more like another cake that I found in this site, the "Apple pound cake." Texture and apple-dose is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Nice, nice, nice!!! I adjusted the recipe for high altitude (7000 feet)which was easy. Baked it as a layer cake with double frosting. I have yet to get any leftovers...so I can't rate them! Fabulous cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States