Fresh Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This cake came out practically raw in the middle even though I baked it for about 5 minutes longer than the directions said.The taste was also just okay, nothing really that special. Also, it was not that appealing to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spiceoflife
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My husband loved this cake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
The batter was too thick for me so I added 6 tab milk. I wanted spices in it, so I added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp each of cloves, nutmeg and ginger. Very moist! Baked in a bundt pan. I didn't use walnuts but didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Nice cake, very dense a bit heavy, needed spices cinnamon or something, 1 1/4 cup of oil is a lot, too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this cake exactly as describe and it is a great cake. My cooking time was 55 minutes, not 25, but other than that wonderful. I have since made some changes to the recipe. The changes have made this cake a favorite in our house at all holidays. Changes: I sliced the apples versus dicing. The apples and their texture really do come through more this way. And I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of all spice to the flour mixture. I also baked my cake in a Bunt Pan and drizzled the frosting on top while the frosting was still warm. With Thanksgiving coming up, this is a great cake to make up to two days beforehand (if you can keep out of it that long,) since is stores beautifully in an air tight container and in a cool place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Awesome! Only change is 4 cups of shredded Granny Smith apples instead of 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Just placed the cake in the oven. I am excited to see how it turns out I did change it up a bit. I did equal parts brown and white sugar added 2 teaspoons of Appletons spiced rum 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and about 1 teaspoon of ground nutmeg I prefer to grind my own spices. I also decided to not use the icing. Well the cake is finished and cooled and half gone. I will def make again. Thanks Jessica for a great recipe and for all the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicat75

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I love this cake!! My caramel topping however didn't come out very well. I followed the recipe to a T--twice!--and both times it ended up as an oily gloop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This cake is absolutely incredible. My daughter is not fond of cake but this won her over. Caramel and apple combo is so tasty and fruity. I added whipped cream/confectioners in the middle and on top so I could decorate it for her 17th BDay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I had to cook the cake for over 60 minutes. I think it was 65 but it was longer than stated. I would have also cut down on the amount of oil - it took a while for the cake to be a cake after it was cooked. I let the cakes cool for a half a day to a day and they were MUCH better consistency and taste. Let them rest over night and then serve. I ate them with out the icing - just the cake. It was a big hit.. not too sweet but nice. I added more apples than called for and put in about 3/4c brown sugar. Would have been good to put some cinnamon in it - I put it on the top. I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States