Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
It was good. I think I overbaked it by accident, but it was still really moist and everyone at work loved it. Next time, I will chop the apples smaller and add a little cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
MOIST oh YEAH, this is a keeper,and will make again & again. This was great w/out the frosting, next time will try with frosting. I personaly would not change anything on this recipe, and the smell in the house while baking, well your'll have to make it to smell it !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice and I don't use the nuts. The first time we did frost it for a party and today I made another, but left it unfrosted. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
great cake, no icing needed. I put one teaspoon of saigon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of cloves, and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. No nuts, substituted raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I couldnt agree more! This is wonderfully moist and "cinammony"; reminds me of the delicious cakes I would have in Germany. For me it is sweet enough without adding any kind of topping, but I imagine adding a carrot cake style icing would be great. I followed this recipe making no changes apart from using wholewheat flour and pecans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This cake was moist and delicious! Everyone who tasted it asked asked for seconds. I added a thin layer of caramel to the top of the cake after it came out of the oven, and that certainly kept the cake moist and delicious. I also added more apples, so it had to cook longer, but it was well worth the wait. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I've been making this cake for years. I love this cake and so does eveyone that tries it. I use half the amount of nuts (we dont care too much for nuts), but I add that same amount of raisins (we like the chewyness it gives). To top it off I brush a little melted margarine to the top of the cake and then sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar. Perfect! It's more like a coffee cake to me so it's perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftgal1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was a pretty good cake, similar to the Pear Bread recipie on this site. I was surprised to find it was not overly sweet even with the 2 cups of sugar. I was able to use up a bunch of really old apples. I used almond extract because I was out of vanilla. The cake was moist delicious. I also added more cinion, another teaspoon. Next time I'll try adding cardamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Yum-eee. I switched this up a bit by reducing the sugars to 1C br. sugar and 1/2C white sugar (as I was going to add a glaze to the finished cake), replacing 1C of the flour with whole wheat flour and adding 1/4 tsp cardamom along with the cinnamon. And as dense as the batter was, it baked evenly and was done at 35 min (in a glass pan). Then, to gild the lily, I poured Caramel Frosting VI on top. Moist, apple-y... just plain delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Wow! We just had a piece hot out of the oven and it was just what we were looking for. We used braeburn apples, omitted the nuts because we didn't have any, and the frosting because it's so nice and simple by itself. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States