Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I added 1/8 tsp. each ground cloves, ginger, and allspice. This is the best fresh apple cake I have ever made. It gets better each day, and I did not add any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This cake had great flavor, but it turned out very sticky and kind of fell apart in some places after I baked it. Here are the changes that I made: I baked it in a bundt pan, added 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 oil and 1/4 cup applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. I let it cool on a rack for about 3 hours and it still didn't come out of my VERY greased pan all the way. I think that if I make it again I will add more flour to bind it better and flour my pan along with the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Made this today with the fresh apples from our trees. The guys loved it. It's moist, loaded with apples, cake part bakes nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
The best apple cake i ever tasted. I did change 1 cup surgar for 1 cup splenda. It is just fantastic. God bless you for this recipe Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
this recipes was amazing and was finished in one day. i was a little hesistant at first when i was making it because i felt as if there was too much apple and too lil dough but in the end it worked out perfectly. soft apples. would of been even better w. a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce but that gets too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Delicious cake! I took this to an event and it was a hit. I used Cream Cheese Frosting II on this cake, but it would be good without frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
After reviewing the alterations of this recipe, I changed the following: 1/3 cup oil, 1/4 cup applesauce, 1 cup white sugar, 3/4 cup brown sugar. I thought the sweetness was perfect for my taste. The cake was definitely moist, and light even. It's delicious right out of the oven, but sets up when cooled. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is the best apple cake recipe! The cake was moist and not too sweet. Very tasty and easy to prepare. I followed this recipe exactly the way the author suggested and I was totally satisfied. I also think that using red apples adds to the moistness of the cake. I have tried it with Granny Smith Apples and it was pretty dry and lacked sweetness. Excellent RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Awesome apple cake! I omitted the nuts due to personal taste. I used four McIntosh apples with a fairly fine chop to obtain the desired four cups. In addition to the cinnamon, I added sprinkles of nutmeg, cloves, and pumpkin pie spice. The resultant cake was a beautful dark brown with a crackled appearance. The cake is beautifully moist and rich, with a spicy apple-y flavor. Great with Caramel Frosting VI from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A wonderful addition to my recipe box!!! A great desert to mark the beginning of fall! One of the best tasting I have ever made. Very moist and falvorful! This will defiantly be a family favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States