Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We loved this. I just made half a recipe which was just right for the two of us. I used Jonathan apples but I still didn't use all the sugar it called for and it was very sweet. Next time I will try the butter/sugar/cinnamon sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Loved it! Great way to use extra apples. I cut oil a little and substituted some applesauce. Also did the butter/sugar/cinnamon sprinkle on top (suggested by another reviewer) instead of frosting. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The most "apple" taste of the apple cakes! I've been making this for years with great reviews. The only differences in my recipe: 1 tsp soda instead of 2, Granny Smith apples, FINELY chopped, 3 tsp cinnamon instead of 2 & I use pecans. For those who take issue with the sweetness, too much vanilla or soda-like taste, using my recipe will address those problems. Granny Smiths are very tart (especially the greenest ones). By the way, vanilla is known to impart an impression of sweetness. I sometimes bake it in a tube pan for 1 hr. 10 minutes. And I've never needed icing (& I love icing!) Great with vanilla caramel ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. The only thing different was I added butter sauce and omitted nuts. I used real whip cream. My favorite of the apple cakes is the raw apple cake recipe from this sight. I made both of these late fall and will probably try a few more apple cakes as that, pies and chocolate deserts are my favorite things to bake. Well; I do love to bake cookies and cheese cake too!(actually any desert)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This apple cake is SO good, you better freeze half of it or it's gone before you know it. My husband even said that it was GOOD and he's a fussy eater. I used one and one-half cups of white sugar and one-half cup of brown sugar. This cake needs no topping; it's wonderful just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Delicious! Tastes just like one my grandma used to make. Moist and full of apples, yum. Topped with Caramel Frosting VI, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Moist and absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Stroehlein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Amazing! This is a NEVER-FAILED recipe at all! I'm not really into baking, so I'm not really confident when I want to try a recipe. But not this one, I already made it few times now. I change several things, though: I replace half of the oil with apple sauce and replace the nuts with muesli with dried fruits. It's even tastier! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcraver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great recipe. Similar to a carrot cake. I used all brown sugar, and added 1/2 t. fresh grated ginger. Frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting with minced candied ginger and rum added to it. Yum Yum Yummy. Should be able to rate this above a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States