Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is a very old German style recipe that has been in my Husband's family for years. It never makes it through a single day at my house. We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. I made it a little healthier by doing half whole wheat flour and cutting it down to 1 1/2 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I was skeptical that it only called for 2 cps flour with the same amount of sugar, and just a small amount of oil. It was too dry to even stir with the recipe as is so I added a little milk and some applesauce. I am trying to cut back on the oil and applesauce works great. I turned the oven down to 325 and baked it for about an hour and 1/2. It is very dense, and full of flavor. I like that. The apples are just done enough. I really like it. I forgot the nuts, though. I was nervous about the ingredient ratios. All in all, it's good. I will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My mom made this for me once and I fell in love with it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Loved this! Substituted 1c. Sugar for 1c. Splenda and the other cup of white sugar with 1c. Brown sugar. Omitted the nuts. Really good! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
AWESOME CAKE!!! Also made the Caramel Frosting VI from this site and it made it even better. The "Frosting" is more of a glaze that needs to be put on the cake while it is still warm. The only changes I made were for preference and what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delish! I made this for a church 'harvest celebration' potluck, topped with caramel frosting VI from this site. I also used apples from my gravenstein tree, so that helped with the yumminess :) I used 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar only (no white). Also, I tossed the cinnamon in with the sugar/apple mix, and added about 1/2 tsp ground cloves, and 1/2 tsp ground ginger. It was excellent! I will keep this, and definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I just cut into my cake and it is still warm................yummy!!!! I dusted it with confectioner's sugar instead of using an icing and it is so good!!!!! There may not be any left for Christmas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Yummy and moist. I added a 1/2 tsp of all spice a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg a small pinch of ground clove and omitted the nuts. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is my rave review for this cake. The first thing we noticed was that it tasted almost exactly like a dense, moist Welsh cake that my Aunt was given by her MIL about 80 years ago. It had 5 or 6 spices in it with raisins and nuts. It was called Cake Brith (Welsh). It had no apples in it, yet it tastes similar. I'm making one to take to my sister who is having breast cancer surgery tomorrow. I'm positive she and hubby will enjoy it as well. I followed this recipe exactly, but halved it for 2 of us. The next one will be 9X13 in size. I used Granny Smiths and it was perfect in taste, moisture and texture. I'm adding raisins next. Thank you for sharing a delicious treat. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States