Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my family, it was delicous and very moist. It also smelled delicious when it's baking. Lovely x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I've used this recipe for years, as dessert with cream cheese frosting and, unfrosted, I serve it for breakfast. I noticed that another reviewer found the cake to be sticky. I've discovered that if you cover the cake overnight, even after being completely cooled, the top will be "sticky" the next morning - a result of the moisture in the apples, I assume. If I plan to serve it at breakfast the following morning, I leave it uncovered overnight. It doesn't dry out and the texture and appearance are more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Love this simple apple cake. As written it is very, very good but because of our taste buds I subsitute half melted unsalted butter for some of the oil. Thanks for a great contribution and it also keep very, very well - but does not usually last too long!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
very awesome apple cake. I followed the directions as stated except I used 1/2cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup white sugar. Just perfect! Batter is very thick but it works and tastes great!! everyone had 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have been baking this fresh apple cake for about 30 years and have given the recipe out to many people. This cake is a family favorite and it was just recently requested for a family member birthday coming in 2010. It is delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a very sticky cake and it was flat..I dont know what went wrong..seems no one else had this issue so it was probably my error..and I love to bake! Dont know what I did wrong but I will try it one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We loved this. I just made half a recipe which was just right for the two of us. I used Jonathan apples but I still didn't use all the sugar it called for and it was very sweet. Next time I will try the butter/sugar/cinnamon sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Loved it! Great way to use extra apples. I cut oil a little and substituted some applesauce. Also did the butter/sugar/cinnamon sprinkle on top (suggested by another reviewer) instead of frosting. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The most "apple" taste of the apple cakes! I've been making this for years with great reviews. The only differences in my recipe: 1 tsp soda instead of 2, Granny Smith apples, FINELY chopped, 3 tsp cinnamon instead of 2 & I use pecans. For those who take issue with the sweetness, too much vanilla or soda-like taste, using my recipe will address those problems. Granny Smiths are very tart (especially the greenest ones). By the way, vanilla is known to impart an impression of sweetness. I sometimes bake it in a tube pan for 1 hr. 10 minutes. And I've never needed icing (& I love icing!) Great with vanilla caramel ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States