Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! Used whole wheat flour, decreased the sugar, and used apple sauce instead of oil. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
this was a hit , I also did as a few others did which was one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar , theres none left :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vermontsnowkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Matt, Mike and i liked it very much It called for 2 cups white sugar. I put in 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar Good in am and pm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
great recipe! Lost my favorite apple cake recipe so tried this one. The key is using the right apples for the recipe. Use only cooking apples, not too sweet and not too watery. The info available at store. Used one tsp of cinnamon instead of 2. Used 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1/2 cup of oil. Only used one tsp of vanilla. Used pecans instead of walnuts and cut the apples thin and about 1/4 inch long. The mixing directions I followed perfectly. I made 2 cakes to share and one baked in 40 min. and one in 45. Just watch the cake. If not using right away be sure to ventilate when covered or gets a little moist on top. Only used cool whip for topping. Icing of some sort not needed. I will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I just made this for the first time, it's really moist and sweet. Great way to get rid of leftover apples, too. Easy and rather fast to make. I didn't use any frosting, just sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top. Served it when it was still a little warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but I guess whipped cream will go well with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my family, it was delicous and very moist. It also smelled delicious when it's baking. Lovely x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I've used this recipe for years, as dessert with cream cheese frosting and, unfrosted, I serve it for breakfast. I noticed that another reviewer found the cake to be sticky. I've discovered that if you cover the cake overnight, even after being completely cooled, the top will be "sticky" the next morning - a result of the moisture in the apples, I assume. If I plan to serve it at breakfast the following morning, I leave it uncovered overnight. It doesn't dry out and the texture and appearance are more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Love this simple apple cake. As written it is very, very good but because of our taste buds I subsitute half melted unsalted butter for some of the oil. Thanks for a great contribution and it also keep very, very well - but does not usually last too long!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
very awesome apple cake. I followed the directions as stated except I used 1/2cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup white sugar. Just perfect! Batter is very thick but it works and tastes great!! everyone had 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have been baking this fresh apple cake for about 30 years and have given the recipe out to many people. This cake is a family favorite and it was just recently requested for a family member birthday coming in 2010. It is delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States