Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Delicious, moist, like an apple spice cake. I didn't frost it - thought it was fine just like it said. Came out dark on top - thought I'd overcooked it, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Well...this has potential, but it's not there yet. It was soggy towards the bottom of the pan. I would recommend decreasing the amount of apples and making them as small as possible - maybe it will decrease the amount of moisture. Just a note - this is almost the exact recipe I use for carrot cake from allrecipes.com and that is an amazing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Bravo! It's a wonderfully delicious cake! Instead of 2 cups of white sugar I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made this cake and it was a winner at our house. One thing I did, was instead of frosting the cake, I put minature butter brickle chips on the top before baking. Kind of gives it a caramel apple taste - especially yummy recipe for the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very moist and delicious!! I only made 2 minor substitutions: instead of using all vegetable oil, I substituted applesauce (recipe from this site) for half. I also omitted nuts and added 1/2 c raisins because family doesn't like nuts. I WILL be making this many more times in the future. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! Used whole wheat flour, decreased the sugar, and used apple sauce instead of oil. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
this was a hit , I also did as a few others did which was one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar , theres none left :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vermontsnowkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Matt, Mike and i liked it very much It called for 2 cups white sugar. I put in 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar Good in am and pm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
great recipe! Lost my favorite apple cake recipe so tried this one. The key is using the right apples for the recipe. Use only cooking apples, not too sweet and not too watery. The info available at store. Used one tsp of cinnamon instead of 2. Used 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1/2 cup of oil. Only used one tsp of vanilla. Used pecans instead of walnuts and cut the apples thin and about 1/4 inch long. The mixing directions I followed perfectly. I made 2 cakes to share and one baked in 40 min. and one in 45. Just watch the cake. If not using right away be sure to ventilate when covered or gets a little moist on top. Only used cool whip for topping. Icing of some sort not needed. I will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I just made this for the first time, it's really moist and sweet. Great way to get rid of leftover apples, too. Easy and rather fast to make. I didn't use any frosting, just sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top. Served it when it was still a little warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but I guess whipped cream will go well with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States