Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is my rave review for this cake. The first thing we noticed was that it tasted almost exactly like a dense, moist Welsh cake that my Aunt was given by her MIL about 80 years ago. It had 5 or 6 spices in it with raisins and nuts. It was called Cake Brith (Welsh). It had no apples in it, yet it tastes similar. I'm making one to take to my sister who is having breast cancer surgery tomorrow. I'm positive she and hubby will enjoy it as well. I followed this recipe exactly, but halved it for 2 of us. The next one will be 9X13 in size. I used Granny Smiths and it was perfect in taste, moisture and texture. I'm adding raisins next. Thank you for sharing a delicious treat. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My kids LOVE this cake. They even like it better than chocolate cake!! When I make this recipe i always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mjg914

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I'm sorry, I did not like this recipe. I found it to be bland and I seemed to keep tasting the soda. It didn't seem to bother my husband, but my son did not care for this cake at all. I feel bad to give such a low rating, but the taste was a 3 star experience for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Dawn Poe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Great recipe. Only change I made was to cut the recipe in half and bake in a 9x9 pan (there's only two of us) and I used a bit less sugar and substituted about 1/3 of it with brown sugar (wanted a more carmel flavor). Turned out wonderful and the house smells heavenly! Husband fighting urge for seconds. Try a litte whipped cream on it - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejscharlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Jess and I loved this!!!! Moist, tasty, cinnamon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make this monthly, and more often when I have apples that need to be used up! Delicious as can be. My son loves a piece for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was wonderful! Very delicious, everybody loved it. I did think it was too sweet so maybe next time I'll cut down the sugar. I omitted the nuts and added a sprinkle of ground ginger, otherwise I followed as written. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good but missing a topping and had too many apples. I highly recommend using 1 cup of apples maybe two if you want it to be appley. Also, it is important to use grannismith apples. I used mactintosh and they are too soft.Cake became too watery like a sponge. I cooked at 350 for 30 mins and any longer would have burned. yummy. will make it again. followed everything else exact. smelled great in the oven. yummy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I wanted to try something different in a cake so I chose this apple cake recipe. It is the best cake I ever ate. My daughter, who is not a cake lover, absolutely loved it. It was easy to make and if you love apples and love cake, this is the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
What an easy, great tasting apple cake. I looked through dozens of recipes before deciding on this one. Only made one change...used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States