Fresh Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a great cake! I had some Apples that I needed to use, and this was a great way to use them! I baked mine in a regular cake pan instead of a cast iron skillet, and it came out great. I also didn't put any nuts in it, and added a little extra apples. I topped the cake with cream cheese frosting, and we couldn't stop eating it! You could also make muffins or cupcakes out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is fantastic! I made half the batch in a small cast-iron skillet and poured the rest into a cake pan. They both turned out great and all of it was devoured by various family members within 24 hours! The only change I made was to leave the apple peel on. No reason to peel it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiluted_one

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Husband LOVED it and he is my worsted critic. I was a little concerned with the batter consistancy at first - it looked like a 'crumble type' topping. Boy, was I glad I went ahead and baked it. This summer I will be baking this outside in the grill when it is too hot to bake indoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
EXCELLENT! This recipe is quick and tasty. I followed the directions, but may have had a few more that 2 cups of apples. My cake turned out very moist. I will definitely make this gain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Ooooooohhhh so delicious! This cake is moist and flavorful. A most enjoyable way to appreciate the bounty of my apple tree. I absolutely love this and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good! I followed the advice of others and added 1/2 c. yogurt. Has a big cinnamon taste, so if you don't like that I would suggest using less. It's wonderful for breakfast as it is similar in texture to a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Having made three of these in the past 24 hours, I've got to say, this is an excellent cake! Not too sweet and very flavorful. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added a 1/4 cup of apple sauce to the batter. I forgot to peel the apples on one, but it still turned out very nice. In my apartment sized oven, 30 minutes at 350 degrees was plenty. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made a few revisions to keep the cake healthy and incorporate more moisture. It turned into a very moist, scrumptious cake! I didn't have all-purpose flour, so I did 1 cup of brown rice flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. I halved the sugar and added 1/4 cup honey with two eggs because I had some rather small eggs. I added a teaspoon or so of nutmeg and 1/2 a cup of unsweetened applesauce. I didn't measure out my apples, but it looks like I ended up with about three cups instead of two. My cake was done in 30 minutes and the texture was anything but dry! I cut the apples up in very small slices, so this probably helped them soften with the shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious, easy and quick! I made this for company and they loved it! I served it hot with vanilla ice cream. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was surprised I liked this cake so much, and that it came out as well as it did. A note: the cake batter is very thick and it almost comes out like brownie batter. When the cake bakes it's more like a coffee cake. It's very good though. Hope the info helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States