Fresh Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Ooooooohhhh so delicious! This cake is moist and flavorful. A most enjoyable way to appreciate the bounty of my apple tree. I absolutely love this and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good! I followed the advice of others and added 1/2 c. yogurt. Has a big cinnamon taste, so if you don't like that I would suggest using less. It's wonderful for breakfast as it is similar in texture to a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Having made three of these in the past 24 hours, I've got to say, this is an excellent cake! Not too sweet and very flavorful. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added a 1/4 cup of apple sauce to the batter. I forgot to peel the apples on one, but it still turned out very nice. In my apartment sized oven, 30 minutes at 350 degrees was plenty. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made a few revisions to keep the cake healthy and incorporate more moisture. It turned into a very moist, scrumptious cake! I didn't have all-purpose flour, so I did 1 cup of brown rice flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. I halved the sugar and added 1/4 cup honey with two eggs because I had some rather small eggs. I added a teaspoon or so of nutmeg and 1/2 a cup of unsweetened applesauce. I didn't measure out my apples, but it looks like I ended up with about three cups instead of two. My cake was done in 30 minutes and the texture was anything but dry! I cut the apples up in very small slices, so this probably helped them soften with the shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious, easy and quick! I made this for company and they loved it! I served it hot with vanilla ice cream. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was surprised I liked this cake so much, and that it came out as well as it did. A note: the cake batter is very thick and it almost comes out like brownie batter. When the cake bakes it's more like a coffee cake. It's very good though. Hope the info helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My 3 year old grandson and I baked this wonderful cake today. I changed it up just a smigeon, my kids like it spicy. I added a pinch of nutmeg and allspice. I also followed anothers suggestion and added 1/2 cup of yogurt for moistness. It turned out wonderful! I am going to make this one again and again. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Everyone loved this cake! All I changed about this recipe is that I added 1/4 cup of applesauce and the moisture in the cake was perfect. My family is begging me to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is one of the best cakes I have ever tasted. I changed it just a little bit by adding 1/4 cup of olive oil (I don't use the extra virgin because the taste is a bit strong, but it also works). I also used half the cinnamon just because my husband is not crazy about it, but in the end I could still taste the cinnamon at just the right level. Instead of folding the walnuts in I sprinkled them over the top for presentation purposes only and it came out lovely. I shared the cake with relatives and then had to turn over this recipe shortly after. Thanks for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelRoma
Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This cake is wonderful at breakfast or as a snack. I knew the apples I was using would stay firm and not give off a lot of moiture, so I added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt to the batter. It was moist but not soggy. The amount of sugar is perfect, and the same for the cinnamon. I didn't have the specified size pan, so I used a 10.5" cast iron pan without any problem. I love the glossy, deep golden color of this cake. It's old-fashioned in the best sense of the phrase. I wish I could tell you what it was like after being refrigerated, but it disappeared while it was still war,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States