Fresh Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious cake. Fall is upon us, craving something like an easy snack cake. I was concerned about it being dry (thank you, Reta Forbes!) so I added a capful of vegetable oil into the mix. Thanks to msthomas for addressing my concerns of batter thickness: I thought I missed an ingredient, very much like brownie batter. The little bit of vegetable oil made it super-moist, and you can add about a half-cup more apples, too. Reading these reviews before baking helped. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RookieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
great cake did a little different though, used garbanzo bean flour and a little extra butter worked great tasted good with a little nut flavor from the bean. will make it another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I should have read the reviews first. I would have added applesauce or yogurt as others suggested. The batter was very thick. It was still a delicious apple cake and will definitely make again. I liked the idea of using the cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have tried many apple cake recipes & I can finally say I've found the perfect one. This cake was great and so tasty! Had a perfect constancy, was super moist & had all the right blend of flavors. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
It was good, but definitely needs some kind of liquid added to it--it was more like cookie dough than cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I wanted to use up some apples but did not want apple pie. This was a great find. I made a recipe and a half because I used a 9x13 glass baking dish (didn't have cast iron anything). I added 1/4 cup buttermilk as others suggested and sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the batter before baking. I eyeballed the apples so I may have used more then called for in the recipe. I baked it about 50 minutes and I covered it with foil the last 10 minutes so it wouldn't over brown. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I really liked this. I took advice of others and added a scant 1/2 cup of applesauce and I'm glad I did - I usually make recipe exactly as given, but in this case I just happened to have some left-over sauce I needed to get rid of, so I threw it in. One Gala apple finely chopped gave me 2 cups - - - served with whipped cream which gave it just the right amount of sweetness/moistness. Thank you so much for recipe :) - UPDATE: Increasing to 5*. day after my review, we went back that nite and had another piece. SO MUCH BETTER after having sat for a day! The moisture from the apples & applesauce turned this into an incredibly rich and moist delight! Am so pleased :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a great cake! I had some Apples that I needed to use, and this was a great way to use them! I baked mine in a regular cake pan instead of a cast iron skillet, and it came out great. I also didn't put any nuts in it, and added a little extra apples. I topped the cake with cream cheese frosting, and we couldn't stop eating it! You could also make muffins or cupcakes out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is fantastic! I made half the batch in a small cast-iron skillet and poured the rest into a cake pan. They both turned out great and all of it was devoured by various family members within 24 hours! The only change I made was to leave the apple peel on. No reason to peel it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiluted_one

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Husband LOVED it and he is my worsted critic. I was a little concerned with the batter consistancy at first - it looked like a 'crumble type' topping. Boy, was I glad I went ahead and baked it. This summer I will be baking this outside in the grill when it is too hot to bake indoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States