Fresh Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The battter was all crumbles so I added 1/2 cup milk and that was perfect. Also shredded apples to give more moisture. It's baking as I write and I expect it to be perfect! Also sprinkled mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Brinkmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I've made this a dozen times now. everyone loves it. I usually add 1/4 cup of plain yougurt or apple sauce to give it moisture. i use honey crisp apples so they don't release as much moisture as the delicious apples. I love this cake with chai tea or coffee. it's just delicious. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
While mixing the batter I found it was very crumbly and wouldn't have worked at all so I added milk until it resembled a very thick batter. The cake cooked much faster than the 45 minutes indicated. The end result was not too bad but I think I will be deleting this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meaford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was so good! Made one change and added a cup of vanilla yogurt and it came out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious cake. Fall is upon us, craving something like an easy snack cake. I was concerned about it being dry (thank you, Reta Forbes!) so I added a capful of vegetable oil into the mix. Thanks to msthomas for addressing my concerns of batter thickness: I thought I missed an ingredient, very much like brownie batter. The little bit of vegetable oil made it super-moist, and you can add about a half-cup more apples, too. Reading these reviews before baking helped. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RookieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
great cake did a little different though, used garbanzo bean flour and a little extra butter worked great tasted good with a little nut flavor from the bean. will make it another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I should have read the reviews first. I would have added applesauce or yogurt as others suggested. The batter was very thick. It was still a delicious apple cake and will definitely make again. I liked the idea of using the cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have tried many apple cake recipes & I can finally say I've found the perfect one. This cake was great and so tasty! Had a perfect constancy, was super moist & had all the right blend of flavors. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
It was good, but definitely needs some kind of liquid added to it--it was more like cookie dough than cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States