Fresco Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I added a a few cloves of fresh minced garlic, half teaspoon of ground cumin and a good amount fresh ground pepper. Because I like my salsa a little "wetter", I threw half of the diced tomatoes in the blender with half of the onion, one of the diced red peppers, half of the cilantro and the garlic. I pulsed it until it was the consistancy I was looking for, then folded the contents of the blender into the remaining salsa ingredients. Very tasty--one of the better homemade salsa's I've made! UPDATED REVIEW: I've made this twice now and I just can't get enough of it. I used some of this today in both a chicken and rice recipe AND a black bean/corn "salad" and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe was easy to make. It didn't have a lot of ingredients or require cooking. I used a food processor to dice so it was a snap! The flavors are tasty and it's neither too spicy or bland. :) Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This is basically our "everyday" salsa, though I add jalepeno and cumin to mine. We eat it on everything from breakfast eggs to baked potatoes and it is especially yummy on burgers and chicken fresh off the grill. For a change of flavor try grilling the ingrediants over charcoal, then throwing everything in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
AWESOME!!!! I have NEVER made salsa before, until now. I like to snack while I work and this will be a healthy recipe to keep made up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This dish will not stay around long, the whole is ususally gone by the 1st hour. I add in a couple serano peppers for added spice, and to give it a tropical twist, try adding in some pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was very good. I only used 1/2 bunch cilantro, red onion instead of sweet, and added 2 jalepenos and 2 cloves of garlic. It was delicious the next day!!! I prefer it as a topping on tacos, fajitas, etc. but it is good for dipping tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a super good recipe. I don't know how much a "bunch" is in this recipe, but I only needed a couple of pinches of cilantro... a bunch would be out of control. Also I didn't use as much lime juice as it said and I'd like to look for the estimated amount of the juice of "one lime."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Fresh, Fresh, Fresh! An AWESOME recipe to use up those tomatoes from the garden that seem to come all at once- only 1 suggestion: Add 1 teaspoon of fresh minced garlic-YUM! & the whole lime is not too much. I recently made a double batch and served as an appetizer paired with tortilla chips for a dinner party- My guests were demanding to know what "brand" of salsa this was!!! I referred them all to this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomkat7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a bit time consuming but the end result is well worth it. We absolutely love this recipe and eat almost all of it at one time. Lovely in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good, very fresh-tasting. We used half an onion (a large one) and a green pepper, for lack of a red and yellow one. We used Aneheim peppers, which added just a light touch of heat. Good as-is, but with potential for many different tastes from this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States