French's® Crunchy Onion Chicken™ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Very good! The chicken was moist and tender. I seasoned my chicken breast with seasoning salt, garlic salt and pepper and it made them perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janisha86

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Love this récipe!! I've made it a couple times, the first time for the boyfriend who loves chicken but never had it this way and he loved it as well. I seasoned each side with accent salt, cayenne pepper, onion powder and flakes (very little and only on one side), garlic powder, fresh ground pepper medley, Durkees Chicken & Fish seasoning and a little table salt. I also used more frenchs [original, I dont like sharp flavors on my chicken such as cheddar or parm] than called for. I baked in a nonstick with a thin layer of butter, flipping half way through cooking time so the onions didn't burn. Juicy, moist chicken, even the second day. Onions fall off but no problem scooping up to eat. They also lose a little crunch after being reheated but still delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is so easy and really good. What a simple and pleasing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We love this meal. I cut the breasts in half, they cook quicker that way. I also add salt and pepper to the onion and flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLEANNB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I have made this several times & everytime I change it up a little, until now, I finally got it Perfect!--instead of using the egg, cut the chicken into strips, & dip it into honey mustard before I dipped it into the french onions (cutting chicken into strips makes it so much easier to coat them & the honey mustard adds the best flavour!) --after removing from the oven, top each breast w/a slice of mozzarella cheese & let it melt. -- added pan searing flour to the onions instead of plain (has white pepper and salt added in) as well as 2 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. I salted, peppered, & added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the chicken, and I added black pepper to the egg wash. I continue to make this & always double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is my 3rd time making it. The first time the children loved it but we used chicken thighs (which I dislike) because hubby bought the wrong pack of meat. I found during that trial that although it was good it needed something. 2nd time I made it I used breasts and cooked it according to the recipe, I just salted the chicken before coating in the egg wash. Good, but not great. This final time I decided to be a little more gourmet. I added pan searing flour to the onions instead of plain (has white pepper and salt added in) as well as 2 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. I salted, peppered, and added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the chicken, and I added black pepper to the egg wash. I cooked 20 minutes in the oven and held my breath as the family took their first bites. In short? FANTASTIC!!! BEST CHICKEN EVER and I will make again soon... because the family is already demanding an encore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I actually found this in a copy of Parents magazine. I added paprika garlic salt pepper and parsley to the egg mixture. You def have to crush the onions well, but i have a 3 yr old that barely will eat any meat like thing. That being said all three kids devoured it. My husband and I love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stabe01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
The crust was pretty tasty but as a whole the dish was very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These were pretty good. Next time I may use more than two cups of the french's crunchy onions...I don't think there was enough on the chicken breasts. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper since the crunchy onions weren't enough to give it much flavor. This was still a pretty good recipe, though. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I love the flavor the onions give the chicken and it's easy to make. I will say that I did have a hard time getting the onions to stay on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States