Frenchie's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fabulous dressing. I've made it a few times and reduce the sugar by about 25%. I also use olive oil which I happen to always have on hand. No reason to use bottled dressing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used honey instead of sugar. Fabulous recipe this one will be made frequently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this as written. HOWEVER: dang but it's sweet! It reminds me of what used to be called Catalina French dressing. I only made half the recipe and am glad cuz it makes a lot. Next time I'll cut the sugar down considerably. I ended up adding some lemon juice to reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This dressing is delicious, I can keep up with making it for my family. I used it for a glaze on chicken breasts and legs also. I substituted safflower oil and plain white vinegar yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good as is, but also very sweet. My son will love it but I'll cut the sugar back by at least half before serving to adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Combined this with a Pasta Salad recipe. Made it twice in one week! This will be my "go to" recipe for French dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used canola oil and cider vinegar, because I had those on-hand. I don't think those substitutions altered the flavor drastically. I did cut the sugar in half, and it was still very sweet, so I would recommend starting out with less sugar and adding to taste. I also omitted the salt because there is a lot of sodium in the ketchup, and I honestly didn't miss the added salt in the final result. This info may be useful for people on restricted sodium diets, like myself. This recipe has made me a convert from buying bottled French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
delicious¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is tangy and tastes divine. I used garlic powder and onion powder in lieu of fresh; this way it keeps for several weeks in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States