Frenchie's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
my little girl loved this! i did decrease the sugar by half and used canola oil since i dont keep sunflower seed oil on hand. i also used minced onion. very easy very good and i got a full bottle of dressing from the leftovers. i think it will get even better as it sits and the flavors meld. excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is tangy and tastes divine. I used garlic powder and onion powder in lieu of fresh; this way it keeps for several weeks in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
very good. i used canola oil and decreased the recipe. i never made french dressing before because i didnt realize you could make it w/ everyday ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used canola oil and cider vinegar, because I had those on-hand. I don't think those substitutions altered the flavor drastically. I did cut the sugar in half, and it was still very sweet, so I would recommend starting out with less sugar and adding to taste. I also omitted the salt because there is a lot of sodium in the ketchup, and I honestly didn't miss the added salt in the final result. This info may be useful for people on restricted sodium diets, like myself. This recipe has made me a convert from buying bottled French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was sooo goood. I have several recipe for a French dressing, but that way I can have different variations for different moods. I will be making this again. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I recently decided to start making ALL salad dressings from scratch, and boy am I glad I did! This dressing is awesome! It has a little kick to it, and is SO good on cold, crisp greens. Everyone raved about this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is a tasty dressing. I started out adding less sugar than the recipe called for, but after tasting, added the rest. I grated the onion and garlic to avoid having chunks in the dressing. This is nice and tangy and slightly sweet, just like a good French dressing should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
delicious¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Combined this with a Pasta Salad recipe. Made it twice in one week! This will be my "go to" recipe for French dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This dressing is delicious, I can keep up with making it for my family. I used it for a glaze on chicken breasts and legs also. I substituted safflower oil and plain white vinegar yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States