Frenchie's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was sooo goood. I have several recipe for a French dressing, but that way I can have different variations for different moods. I will be making this again. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Liked this dressing, but it was just a little too sweet for us. Next time, I will start with half of the sugar, and add more if necessary. I wanted to be sure that I didn't have pieces (even small ones) of garlic and onion in my dressing, so I pureed everything EXCEPT the oil in the food processor, and then streamed in the oil through the top of the processor while it was running. Ended up with perfectly smooth dressing with a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
very good. i used canola oil and decreased the recipe. i never made french dressing before because i didnt realize you could make it w/ everyday ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is tangy and tastes divine. I used garlic powder and onion powder in lieu of fresh; this way it keeps for several weeks in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is a tasty dressing. I started out adding less sugar than the recipe called for, but after tasting, added the rest. I grated the onion and garlic to avoid having chunks in the dressing. This is nice and tangy and slightly sweet, just like a good French dressing should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I recently decided to start making ALL salad dressings from scratch, and boy am I glad I did! This dressing is awesome! It has a little kick to it, and is SO good on cold, crisp greens. Everyone raved about this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used canola oil and cider vinegar, because I had those on-hand. I don't think those substitutions altered the flavor drastically. I did cut the sugar in half, and it was still very sweet, so I would recommend starting out with less sugar and adding to taste. I also omitted the salt because there is a lot of sodium in the ketchup, and I honestly didn't miss the added salt in the final result. This info may be useful for people on restricted sodium diets, like myself. This recipe has made me a convert from buying bottled French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
my little girl loved this! i did decrease the sugar by half and used canola oil since i dont keep sunflower seed oil on hand. i also used minced onion. very easy very good and i got a full bottle of dressing from the leftovers. i think it will get even better as it sits and the flavors meld. excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used vegetable oil. I told my french boyfriend that this is French salad dressing, which doesn't mean anything to him. He said it is a 'sweet and sour' sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
delicious¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States