French Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was great! The prep time is minimal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
We loved this recipe. Used refrigerator piecrusts to save time. Didn't have savory but don't feel the taste suffered one bit. Took a bit longer to cook down. My husband loved the flavor. My daughter even took the filling and some iceberg lettuce to turn this into lettuce wraps like P.F. Changs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This pie is DELICIOUS! Even my five-year-old husband who refuses to eat like an adult LOVED this dish! It was easy to make and tastes great. I was nervous about using a spice like mace on meat, but the spices were perfect. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I really liked the spice blend in this pie and recommend it. It's a great do ahead meal, and this pie freezes well. Thanks, C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Just right. The authentic flavour was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very flavorful. I was afraid it might be bland, but loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Perfection! Loved it loved it loved it. This was so easy to prepare; I substituted a pinch of thyme and a pinch of nutmeg instead of savory and mace and it was delicious. I made a home-made pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, except for a couple things - mainly, I made some serious changes to the recipe, used beef instead of pork, and incorporated the half pound of bacon from which I rendered the fat. Having said that, dh and two daughters (15 and 11) loved the whole meat pie thing. "You should serve this when we have company!" and so on. I felt the recipe deserved 4 stars on principle alone. Next time I think I will make it with the pork and see how it is that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
In the process ... having to sub spices: allspice for mace, marjoram for savory, (used sage). Olive oil for the bacon fat. I added a stalk of celery & more garlic, probably 2 cloves. I'm combining w another recipe here that adds unseasoned, mashed potatoes with the meat mixture, less than 2c mashed. 'Not so sure I'd like "meat pie" - & it'll be more filling with a little potato action. My ground pork was only 1#. I "repinched" the spices - meaning allspice, sage & marjoram. It filled a deepdish pie plate. 'Kinda reminds me of Shepard's pie mixed together. 'Thinking the "good"-ness of the pie depends on the chicken broth since it's the predominant flavor added. Mine's homemade so it'll probably be good. 'Baking at 375 like I would a regular pie since it isn't all that wet - to need a higher temp...Done in 45. Still reminds me of Shepard's pie. 'Not a bad thing, just meaty - & with potato addition - a bit potatoey. :? :D 'Think this is a "man food". I'd like more spices & ingredients, but that'd be an entirely different recipe then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was easy & a big hit with the kids, but the adults found it typical of traditional European country-fare: filling, but a bit boring. It was tasty, but a little dry. I'll be serving it on cold winter days........maybe with a gavy or sauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States