French Toast and Spam Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this for a late brunch. I have to say it was very quick and easy for some non-cooks like me and my family. I made it with PAM non-stick cooking spray because it was what was convenient for me, better for me, and the recipe was quiet versatile. At the end I also put a tomato at the end to make it much more healthier and taste a little fresher. Also a word of the wise, you should make sure it's really fried and put it into the egg mixture QUICKLY because you do NOT want soggy egg bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I was very concerned about my french toast being too eggy but that was not the case. It was especially good dipped in the syrup. I did spray the skillet for the french toast but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is a pretty easy recipe to make. I will make it again as I like the sweet and salty mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
We like Spam once in a while, and I decided to try this. It's got the sweet/salty combo that's good, but overall I thought it was heavy. Dipped the sandwich in some pancake syrup as I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My family loved this! I used my own recipe for french toast which uses only 2 eggs to 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (about 4 slices of bread) Added the fried spam, folded and dipped in syrup! Delicious! Thanks for sharing another tasty way to use good ole fried spam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I gave this a five star because I didn't follow directions. I added sugar to the milk and eggs. Sprayed pan with cooking spray and browned on both sides. Took a piece of french toast and placed a piece of crispy spam on one side, added some ketchup and fold. Sweet, salty and yummy. No need for syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim w

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Kind of greasy and salty. Also, the directions don't really seem complete. Don't you use butter or cooking spray in the pan when you cook french toast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar_smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The spam made the toast all soggy and greasy, not to mention super salty. You would do good to use real french bread to be able to pick up the sandwich. Spend the extra dollar and use real ham, works far better than spam in every aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JetGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I gave this four stars because I find it good, even though it's Spam (as another poster said, Spam is NOT cool in the Pacific Northwest!) However my son, age 13, absolutely loved it, and he was skeptical in trying it. It is the only way he wants french toast now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was an awesome brunch menu that is very easy to prepare. I actually turned it into a sandwich with two slices of luncheon meat between two slices of French Toast, with maple syrup on top of it all. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States