French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Just made these this morning, but didn't add the orange zest because of time. I used day-old Hawaiian bread cut in sticks (they were leftover from the dip last night for the Superbowl) and it was great! I fried them in a thin layer of vegetable oil and they were perfect. I like to sprinkle the cinnamon on while cooking to get it more evenly distributed. These tasted like restaurant quality french toast sticks! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Great taste! The orange zest gave it a delicious kick. Watch for too much zest on the last few pieces though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Delicious - I followed this recipe using thick sliced cinnamon orange bread from our grocery store bakery and prepared as regular french toast (did not cut into shapes). The entire family loved it - nice delicate orange flavor. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Wow! We just finished eating this for dinner and I must say that this was by far THE BEST French toast I have ever eaten! Our sons are huge Batman fans so I used a bat-shaped cookie cutter instead of a star and they loved it! For bread I used Best Bread Machine Bread from this site, it had just come out of the bread maker and worked out wonderfully for this recipe. I don't know if it's the difference in using heavy cream in place of milk as in traditional recipes, or the addition of honey, it just was a terrific recipe-unlike any I had ever had before. Thanks so much for sharing, I can attest that this will be our permanent French Toast recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Tried these this morning (but without the shapes) and they were awesome! Much better than my regular recipe. Thanks for a yummy new addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Used an egg shaped cookie cutter and Texas Toast (several companies make it, Wonder, Aunt Millie etc.). Very good and easy recipe. Will make it again Easter morning. Blueberries and strawberries go well with it. Next time, will not add salt when using salted butter to cook. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I didn't do the star shape, but the honey and orange in this are outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I didn't make any shapes but it was still absolutely loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R_jesser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. Very full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was fabulous. I was soo bored with the same old french toast. Don't be scared by the amount of honey, I started out with only 1 tbsp and after the first slice quickly added the other tbsp. They were not too sweet at all. I used light bread and half&half instead of heavy cream. They came out great. You have to cook them at a low heat because of all the honey or they will burn quickly. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States