French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was fabulous. I was soo bored with the same old french toast. Don't be scared by the amount of honey, I started out with only 1 tbsp and after the first slice quickly added the other tbsp. They were not too sweet at all. I used light bread and half&half instead of heavy cream. They came out great. You have to cook them at a low heat because of all the honey or they will burn quickly. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Wow! We just finished eating this for dinner and I must say that this was by far THE BEST French toast I have ever eaten! Our sons are huge Batman fans so I used a bat-shaped cookie cutter instead of a star and they loved it! For bread I used Best Bread Machine Bread from this site, it had just come out of the bread maker and worked out wonderfully for this recipe. I don't know if it's the difference in using heavy cream in place of milk as in traditional recipes, or the addition of honey, it just was a terrific recipe-unlike any I had ever had before. Thanks so much for sharing, I can attest that this will be our permanent French Toast recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The kids and I liked this alright. My kids found more greatness in the french toast being that they were shaped as stars. I liked that they ate their breakfast without complaint. I might keep the star idea for next time and use a different french toast dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Just made these this morning, but didn't add the orange zest because of time. I used day-old Hawaiian bread cut in sticks (they were leftover from the dip last night for the Superbowl) and it was great! I fried them in a thin layer of vegetable oil and they were perfect. I like to sprinkle the cinnamon on while cooking to get it more evenly distributed. These tasted like restaurant quality french toast sticks! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Cute and creative! This was a proved to be a nice spin on an old favorite. I love french toast and this was a very tasty new way to prepare it especially with the touch of fruit. I used thick cut Texas toast and all I added was a little nutmeg to the egg mixture. When these were nice and crispy I dusted them with powdered sugar, a dollup of butter and drizzled some real maple syrup over top - a really nice treat for breakfast with a glass of OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I loved the taste of it! be sure to cook them over low heat though - they'll burn quickly if it's set too high
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Great taste! The orange zest gave it a delicious kick. Watch for too much zest on the last few pieces though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Used an egg shaped cookie cutter and Texas Toast (several companies make it, Wonder, Aunt Millie etc.). Very good and easy recipe. Will make it again Easter morning. Blueberries and strawberries go well with it. Next time, will not add salt when using salted butter to cook. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Great flavor! Rather than waste the rest of the bread, I cooked eggs in the star shaped holes, the same way you would do "eggs in holes!" The kids thought that was a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Tried these this morning (but without the shapes) and they were awesome! Much better than my regular recipe. Thanks for a yummy new addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States