French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious! I used fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream and you couldn't tell a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this recipe is wonderful. it has such a light, tasty flavor..however, next time, i would NOT fry in butter...it had way too strong a butter taste, which took away from the orange and cinnamon, in my opinion. i would rather use a good nonstick skillet and avoid using a greasing agent entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Our search for a french toast recipe is now over! We don't cut them into stars so we can get 5 thick pieces of white bread with the amount of liquid the recipe makes. We've used cream, half and half, and even 2% milk and all of them have great end results. We use less butter, about 1 tbsp for each round of french toast (3). Make this about once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Only warning I'd give is that if you are using whole slices instead of stars (or cutouts of any kind) then you need to double the recipe as there was not enough egg mix for the slices of bread I was trying to cook. Even still - my third slice had smidges of the egg mix and it was still most excellent. My husband and I have both shied away from french toast because we had too many soggy bread versions as kids. This, however, had fantastic flavor and was cooked through so no complaints on either of our parts and we are now lovers of french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
The best french toast recipe. Do not change a thing. I used the French Brioche recipe from this website and it was an outstanding combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Yummy! My kids loved these! I left the french toast whole instead of cutting them into stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymhowell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is by far the best french toast I've ever had. I made it for a holiday brunch and it was the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTNDARILIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I woke up this morning not knowing what to eat and I came across this recipe. Fortunately, i had all the ingredients minus the orange zest lying around so i tried it. This is such an easy recipe and the taste is pretty good. I only used 4 slices of wheat bread to make it a little healthier and I cut each slice into four pieces. I let them sit for a while in the mixture and that's probably why I only used 4 slices. But i would do this again because the slices were juicy and warm and really soft. I didn't use the orange zest but I definitely can see how it would taste good. The honey is a nice touch to it as well. I also recommend to leave the temp on med-low so that it doesn't burn because they cook fast. Overall it was delicious and I will probably make some more and put them in the freezer for my boyfriend to just microwave and eat in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
we loved this recipe. small changes that i made include using half the salt, didn't have orange zest so used extract, also doubled the cinnamon. served this with the best ever pancake syrup from this site. only thick bread that i had was barbecue bread and it worked great. with that type of bread recipe only coated four pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is the BEST french toast recipe I have ever tried! I left the orange zest out...I don't think I'd like it with it. I made them into finger slices and cooked on low like some of the other posters suggested. They turned out perfect and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States