French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. It tastes just like the french toast you would pay $30 a plate for at a nice restaurant. I used Hawaiian sweet bread that you can buy at the grocery store and did not cut into stars. I cooked on the griddle with a little bit of butter. I mixed together raspberries, blackberries & strawberries with a teaspoon of sugar and spooned it on top of the french toast, then topped with fresh whipped cream. It is the best french toast I've ever had! If you don't like the orange taste, just omit the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Awesome flavor! Not too sweet, just right. I didn't have the orange zest this time but will try this recipe again with it since many say it adds to the wonderful flavor. I skipped the cinnamon since I used fresh cinnamon bread from a local bakery. Finally don't have to go to a local restaurant to get fabulous tasting french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Incredible taste! I went a little over board with the orange zest. I'll follow the recipe a little closer next time. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey McCabe Sussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Best!! Skipped the orange because of time but it was still good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I used wheat bread instead of white. The bread was fragile not only cutting out the star shape but after dipping in the egg mixture. I also used Agave instead of honey. I think if I were to make these again I would try a heartier grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great! My son, who doesn't eat anything, gobbled this up! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Awesome! The orange zest and splash of vanilla did it for me. I used homo milk and think the cream would make it even better. Next time I will plan ahead and leave my bread slices to dry out overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
didnt change a thing. My family loves this recipe! They request it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe was great, I doubled it and used Texas Toast. Wonderful Breaksfast recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENEVA18

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States