French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Very good. I didn't have heavy cream...used light whipped cream and added same amount of almond extract...almond was a definite plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These are great ! unfortunately I did not have any star shaped cookie cutters..(just moved) but that obviously doesn´t make a different at how great these are.. I also added more cinnamon since i love it.. and served with maple syrup.. how yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Outstanding! Serve as is for those who do not like it too sweet or sprinkle some powder sugar on top for the ones with sweet tooth. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Yummy! I made this recipe this morning for mother's day breakfast. I left out the orange zest (due to citrus allergies!) but even still, this is the best FT recipe I've come across. The kids kept saying how it tastes exactly like restaurant breakfast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Wow, this was wonderful. made as written with no changes. I will make again. I made hearts for the kids and they loved them. next time I might leave out the orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Awesome french toast! My kids wanted breakfast for dinner and I used thick white french toast bread and made exactly as directed. My girls ate it without anything on it, one son ate it with powdered sugar sprinkled on and one with syrup. I ate it plain it was so good. My kids wanted it the next morning and my husband made it with whole wheat bread and no orange zest. I wasn't there, but they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a wonderful french toast recipe! Because of on hand items I substituted milk for cream and did not cut into any shape. Used texas toast and kamut cinn. raisin bread and the whole family was more than happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Yummy! Both my husband and I enjoyed this scrumptious recipe! We'll be using it in future, for certain. We especially liked that it's mostly a heathy breakfast. I substitued reduced fat organic milk for the cream, and I used whole wheat toast. Topped with pure maple syrup, it was the best! I didn't cut any shapes, but I just cut the slices diagonally. We found that the egg mixture is enough for about 6 whole slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent! Easy! Fast! Normally, I wouldn't go to the trouble of using heavy cream in a recipe like this. However, I had some whipping cream left over from something else, so I used that. The result was wonderful. I only used half of the orange zest and that seemed to be enough. My husband and I were looking around for more bread to make more. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These were yummy! I didn't bother making stars, I just used some Italian bread leftover from dinner the night before. I also used dried orange peel, which was okay. I suspect the recipe will be even better with fresh orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States