French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I did not have cream so I just used milk. I can't compare but it was great with milk. I did not use the orange zest as I did not think the kids would like it. Be careful how hot the burner or you will burn the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy_erica_b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really, really yummy. The cream pushes these over the top- I don't know, it just makes the texture heavenly. (And I used low fat cream.) I skipped the zest and doubled up on the vanilla. Our favourite way to serve this is with that thick, fresh, crusty white French bread you get in the grocery store's bakery section. We fry it in a bit of canola oil and top with warm maple syrup. Just a thought: I've never tried the star variation, but wouldn't it be easier in some ways to make the french toast THEN cut it into stars or other shapes? And then snack on the edges :) That way the points wouldn't be breaking off in the egg mixture. Just an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
GReat recipe! As is! I made french toast bears and dinosaurs instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! My husband did not care for the orange zest, however, I thought it was great. I did use about a Tbs instead of 2 of the orange and it worked out great.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Best French toast I have ever had! The star thing threw me, then I just decided to cut the crusts off and make the recipe. I'll never make french toast another way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent! We used clementine zest instead of orange zest (just because we had them), half and half instead of cream, and wheat bread. Using whole, uncut slices of bread, the egg mixture was enough for 4-5 slices. Excellent combination of flavors and just sweet enough. Doesn't need a topping, but maple syrup or a light drizzle of a powdered sugar and milk glaze would be great additions to highlight the flavor. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious! I used fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream and you couldn't tell a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this recipe is wonderful. it has such a light, tasty flavor..however, next time, i would NOT fry in butter...it had way too strong a butter taste, which took away from the orange and cinnamon, in my opinion. i would rather use a good nonstick skillet and avoid using a greasing agent entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Our search for a french toast recipe is now over! We don't cut them into stars so we can get 5 thick pieces of white bread with the amount of liquid the recipe makes. We've used cream, half and half, and even 2% milk and all of them have great end results. We use less butter, about 1 tbsp for each round of french toast (3). Make this about once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States