French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I did not have any cream so I used 2% milk, I also did not have orange zest but still this is the best French toast ever. My #1 critic really liked this recipe. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These were delicious! We sprinkled them with powdered sugar and then my kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
YUM! I will have to update after I make this again... I didn't have an orange, so I used orange juice. No cream either, so I used milk... but this was a wonderful recipe! I loved the honey and cinnamon, with a hint of orange. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very good. I liked addition of the orange flavor in this. I had 3 sizes of star cookie cutters, the largest was by far the easiest and had less tearing of bread. This is a cute idea and can be changed up to suit specific holidys using different shapes. Thanks this was a great meal and looked cute too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Best french toast I've ever had. I completely skip the star cutting part and just leave the shape of the Texas Toast alone. Don't make the mistake of using half and half instead of heavy cream, it just doesn't turn out as good. It freezes well too and then toasts up nice. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made it with grated orange and lemon peel instead of orange zest, and didn't make shapes. It was Fantastic!!! I made it for my husband for a Valentine's Breakfast, and he said it was the best french toast he has EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraPaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitzgerald, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Delicious! My new default French toast. I did do a couple things differently, however. I used a tablespoon of triple sec in place of the orange peel as I had no oranges. The orange flavor didn't come through as well as I had expected, so next time I will use more of the liqueur or an actual orange. Watch out for cinnamon clumps in the batter! I should have used a whisk to mix to ensure homogeneity. There wasn't enough batter left to completely coat the eighth slice, but this may be because I used regular white bread which is a bit spongy and could have soaked up more than thicker bread. Cooked on medium-low heat as recommended and the slices came out perfectly (I prefer softer slices) with a bit of browning on the outside. To serve I drizzled on honey and sprinkled a little more cinnamon on top, sopaipilla-style. Fantastic! The heavy cream provides a bit of richness (but not too much) and the toast is very satisfying. Yum! Also received top scores from SO who drizzled chocolate syrup on his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wow! The orange zest is a wonderful, fresh addition. I used half and half and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious- but it was difficult to mix together the honey with the rest of the mixture. I also decided to use Orange Marmalade instead of Orange Zest, which may have added to the thickness, but was definitely worth the hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States