French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Although I chose not to cut the bread into star shapes, I did follow the recipe to a "T". I loved the orange flavor, although I think I may cut it in half next time. My family enjoyed this recipe and we'll keep it as a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I did modify this recipe a lot, but I still believe it is worthy of the five stars. I craved them all day long after breakfast! Okay, my dh doesn't like sweet things usually with his eggs or french toast. He prefers the savoury flavour. I decided to make these, modifying for his taste and I used 5 kid's size eggs (500g), half a cup of thickened cream, 1/4 cup organic, unhomogenized milk, 1 tblspn of honey, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, the grated zest of one small orange, about 1/4 tsp (to get a tblspn is heaps!) and a small squeeze of the juice into egg/cream mix. I more or less, only added small amounts of the honey and spices, so he would like it. He told me later that it was alright, but he likes just plain egg and milk better. I LOVED IT!!!! Seriously, I would not like it any sweeter than what I had it, and my dd didn't like it either, but ds and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very tasty. I've made these twice in one week. Nearly followed the recipe exactly the first time, except that I substituted orange extract for the zest and used a little less salt. They were delicious. I'm not a huge french toast fan and I liked them. Even my three picky kids liked them. Second time I made them, I was out of cream, so I substituted whole milk--just as wonderful. Husband, who tried the lower fat version, said this is the BEST FRENCH TOAST he has ever had. I used King's Hawaiian Bread. Very easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Very good. A little different from our regular french toast dip. My son loved the idea of the shapes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The kids and I liked this alright. My kids found more greatness in the french toast being that they were shaped as stars. I liked that they ate their breakfast without complaint. I might keep the star idea for next time and use a different french toast dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I didn't cut them into stars, and I added a little milk to thin it out and stretch it for my family. We love them, but probably because it is very similar to the one I have been making for years. I just don't add honey and orange zest to my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Wow! This is fantastic french toast! I made little stars and some other shapes for my boys and gave them strawberry yogurt to dip them in. I just made it regular for me and ate it with the "absolute best pancake syrup" from here because its my favorite and it was soooo good. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
made this morning it was one of the best french toast recipes I have tried. One son said too much orange zest but other than that it is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Used Orange Honey instead of adding in orange zest and it turned out just great! Probably not as orange-y in flavor, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
The best french toast Ive had...but I mistakingly made a 4-serving meal and there was definitely was not enough of the egg-mixture. So next time I will double it. But the recipe itself...I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States