French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've been making this for years now, I sometimes add more cream in the morning and/or replace half the cream with milk. It always gets rave reviews! Great for Sunday School breakfast potlucks since all you do the morning after is throw it in the oven! My modified recipe is as follows- 1 loaf texas toast/french toast bread, only 6 eggs, only 1/2 cup maple syrup, one pint of heavy cream, 1/2 stick softened butter, 1/2 cup milk, 1 8 oz brick of cream cheese, Sometimes add 1 cup frozen blueberries, or 2 tsp cinnamon. This goes into 1 oversized 10x15 dish or, two pie dishes. I will also bake covered for 30 minutes and uncovered for and additional 15 or so. (Altered recipe requires this) I smother butter all over the top while it's still piping hot before sprinkling with the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is a great crowd pleaser! Easy to fix and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I make this every year for Christmas breakfast. It is delicious, and so convenient to put in the fridge the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Well, I did the recipe as written and then dotted with butter and sprinkled with a mix of white and brown sugar and cinnamon, as I prefer it sweeter. Then family drizzled syrup over it and a shake of powdered sugar. MMMMMMM so great. I made another version of this before, but I really think this one was better. I also tossed the bread around and I put it into two round cake pans. The result was not too eggy, and it had crispy yummy bits on top from the butter and from baking. Everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is not a souffle but a casserole. Pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emtanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I loved this recipe but hubby thought it was missing something so I made it again and upped the syrup to 3/4 cup and added Pampered Chef's Cinnamon Plus. (Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice...) AMAZING!!! My go to recipe for anything that calls for a breakfast dish or make ahead dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Endecott

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a great starter recipe. I ran out of white bread so I used 1/2 cinnamon rasin and 1/2 white. The casserole came out superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
AWESOME and easy. I make this on holidays, special occasions and when I want the family to gather. I just say Im makeing this and they all come! I am diabetic, I use Sugar free syrup, no one can tell the difference. so light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
A HUGE disappointment!! Turned out like milk toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
We made this last year for Christmas morning and I'd forgotten to buy bread, but we had left over cinnamon buns. Cut them up and used them instead and it was FABULOUS! Making it the same way again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States