French Toast Sausage Fluffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good recipe! It has a lot of potential. I didn't notice any particularly yeasty flavor like other reviewers mentioned. Having made this according to the recipe, I think I would suggest adding a little cinnamon, and maybe a pinch of nutmeg to the batter to give it a more classic French Toast flavor. I think bacon or diced ham could be utilized in place of sausage quite easily, and with good results. The texture seems good without any meddling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this to bring to Easter brunch. Turned out good. Didn't taste yeasty like other reviews said. Definitely need to use stand mixer not hand mixer! Think next time I will add lil more sugar and some cinnamon to the dry ingredients. May even try splitting it into more than just twelve muffin tins to make them a little smaller. I would make this again for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My whole family loved these! They came out perfectly with no adjustments. I enjoy them without syrup, but my kids and husband like to dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I can't eat sausage so I used 3/4 cup of raisins instead. We really enjoyed these but I had to add 1/2 cup milk extra as the batter was way too dry. I would definitely recommend using a stand mixer versus a hand held mixer as I started with that and almost burned out the motor. 30 minutes was perfect in my stove. I used vanilla sugar for the white sugar and omitted the extract. Next time I would use butter for the oil and add an extra tbsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
We were excited to have a new grab and go breakfast item so we baked them tonight! Followed the recipe exactly. They came out just beautiful! Perfect the first try! My son really liked them, he ate 2 for a bedtime snack. Yes, we dunked! We will be using this recipe many times. Lora Deanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I'll have to admit- I was a bit skeptical when contemplating baking the french toast fluffin but now that I have I must say they are fabulous! Crisp browned skin on top, rich and creamy ample filling-My girlfriend Daisy also made a batch and I ate all of those too! Just a tad bit yeasty, but hey-I like the taste of yeast for a late night snack anyways! I did not use corn oil because I don't believe in corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Spummell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I bought turkey maple links vs. pork to bring the fat content down (by 1/4!!), and substituted 1 cup ww flour for 1 cup of regular flour (the Fleischmann's website says you can do this; I don't see it on allrecipes, although there is an asterisk by the flour ingredient, so perhaps this option was accidentally left out?). Anyhow, they smelled amazing and looked absolutely gorgeous. I dipped in syrup. But the taste is very, very...yeasty, at the risk of sounding "duh". As in, it's actually kind of sour. I had to use a lot of syrup for dipping. Very odd. I would love to find out/figure out a good fix for these, like adding more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious, may have eaten too many though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States