French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
My husband, who has very little cooking experience, wanted to make french toast for us and so I looked up this recipe for him. This turned out so well that it is now our very favorite recipe for french toast...and I have tried dozens of different recipes for french toast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was a good recipe. I used Texas toast instead also I cut out the nutmeg plus used some vanilla. We enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Derby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I loved this recipe. I did modify it instead of milk I used heavy cream, and for the bread I used Pepperidge farms french vanilla bread! Yummy! Be sure not to let your bread too long, I usually just coat one side, then the other and onto the hot skillet! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I really enjoyed this French Toast. I was only making 2 slices for me, and when I reduced the servings to 2 it said to use 2/3 eggs, but I was having problems with that so I just used 1 egg. And because of several reviews I cut the nutmeg portion about in half. You could still taste it, but it tasted good. I dipped this in maple syrup and cinnamin. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I WAS NOT THRILLED WITH THIS AT ALL. SOAKING THE BREAD TILL IT WAS SATURATED MADE THE BREAD WAY TOO SOGGY. MY FIRST BATCH WAS RUINED. ON THE SECOND BATCH I QUICKLY DIPPED THE BREAD IN THE EGG MIXTURE AND THAT WORKED BETTER. IM ONLY GIVING THIS THREE STARS BECAUSE MY HUSBAND SAID IT WAS OKAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Made this for oldest son this morning. This is the kid that inhales food like he has never eaten. He had about 4 bites total out of 2 slices and wouldn't eat any more :-( He didn't like the nutmeg taste and thought it was too soggy. When his brother came down for breakfast and saw his brother's plate he refused to even try it. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Pretty good. I sprinkled brown sugar on top because I didn't have any syrup. It provided just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I cut the recipe to 8 servings; ignored the egg count, and used 4; and used only 4 slices of challah bread. It was the perfect amount of egg mixture for the long, 1-inch thick slices of bread. I was leery of the nutmeg (I don't even like egg nog), but used the full amount anyway and was not disappointed! My husband and kids approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
i was skeptical when i first pulled these out of the pan but actually very tasty. my family loved them with some real maple syrup for father's day. i liked the added sugar which just lightly sweetened the toast. i left out the nutmeg because i thought it might be to much of a pungent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Yummy and simple french toast! My husband and I really enjoyed this one, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States