French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
While not bad, I have to say, the amount of nutmeg is a bit off the charts! 1/4 tsp would have been MORE than sufficient. And WHATEVER you do, DON'T soak regular white sandwich bread, you won't be able to transfer it from the bowl to the pan. A quick dip should do the trick nicely. I don't reccomend this recipe very highly, I'll stick to eggs, sugar, vanilla, and a lil sprinkle of cinnamon. Perfect mix. Oh, and BTW, in case anyone didn't know already, nutmeg is REALLY expensive, thats why a lil goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've never made french toast using brown sugar before, and boy have I been missing something. This recipe was delicious. I did substitute a tsp of vanilla for the nutmeg (not a big fan of nutmeg), but the brown sugar is definitely the deal maker. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great french toast..I alway use french bread though, it makes all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'll be honest, I didn't even READ the directions. I've made french toast before, so I just wanted to see what else besides egg and milk you could use. This was DELICIOUS!! Since I made it just for myself, I used 2 eggs, just under 1/4 cup milk, probably 1/2 tbl of brown sugar and two shakes of cinnamon (I didn't measure the milk, sugar, or cinnamon, just what seemed right). I didn't have any nutmeg, but it tasted great with a bit of maple sryup. Oh, I also cut two big slices of Chullah bread -mmMMMMmmm.... Will definitely be using these ingredients from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevroth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Perfect amount and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I also cut out the nutmeg and added vanilla in place. I put the cinnamon in with the mixture instead of topping it off. Dont let the bread soak to long or the inside will get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe has WAY too much nutmeg. I would at least cut it down to 1/2 teaspoon or 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
i actually put 1/4 cup milk and 1/2 cup half n half - makes for a richer french toast. also, i tried adding orange zest from a whole orange and it really kicked up the flavor and my husband loooooved it! sometimes i add coconut extract too... but i always add vanilla extract to my french toast. this recipe made over 12 slices and i used big slices of french bread - not sure why people are getting less than 8 slices? leave out the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Eggleston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was sooooo good! The only thing I did differently was mix the cinnamon in with the egg mixture. This french toast didn't even need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The number of slices is too many for this recipe - it should be about 6. Type of brown sugar not specified (light/dark). Using regular granulated sugar would be better - less likely to burn. A tablespoon of cinnamon is too much. It just floated on top of the mixture and was soaked up by the first few slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States