French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I think this was a good, basic french toast recipe. I only wanted to do 10 slices of bread, which was good because I had no mixture left at all after the 10th slice. To combat the sogginess of the toast, I dried the bread out in the over on 200 degrees for about 10 or 15 minutes, flipping them periodically. I could have left them out overnight to achieve the same results if I had planned ahead. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the mixture, and sprinkled the finished product with powered sugar and cinnamon. I found I didn't need much maple syrup because the toast has good flavor all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was awesome. I cut it down to 6 servings and it was just enough. Delicious! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Perfect standard recipe. I used cream because I had it on hand as well as butter in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
If you are having trouble getting your french toast to cook all the way through: If you are making a large batch turn your oven to 350 and put them on a foil lined baking sheet AFTER you have cooked them in the pan/griddle. By the time you are ready to start serving you will have fully cooked french toast. If you are making a small batch (i.e for one or two); you can always pop these into the toaster (after they have been cooked through in a pan/griddle) if you think they need to be cooked a little more. On a side note: these freeze and reheat well in the toaster and leave your kitchen smelling wonderful. Also if you know you don't like nutmeg, or you are cooking for a "picky eater" cut back on the nutmeg! .....I add vanilla to this recipe because well I put vanilla in just about everything. Overall a great recipe easy to customize after you make it the first time. (i've always mixed the cinnamon in with the egg even though it gets a little clumpy but if you mix well and swirl it before you dip the bread it makes a lovely dark swirl on the bread). -Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
The perfect ratio of ingredients! Nothing is too overpowering (which is always my fear with nutmeg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ademers1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Decent for it's ease, but leaves your French toast a little soggy & it's seasonings don't really hold up once cooked. Great introduction dish for beginners but just a simple change up for well groomed cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was the best French Toast i have made. YOU MUST USE THICK STALE BREAD! That is the trick, as it's not too soggy and tastes perfect. The bread will definitely make or break this french toast Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezy1104

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Only made this for one so I changed the recipe yield to 3 so that I only used 1 egg. I didnt have brown sugar so I used regular sugar instead. Also couldn't find my nutmeg. I added a tad bit of vanilla and decided I wanted something extra and added just enough chocolate syrup to give it that light chocolate milk color. Had exactly enough for 2 slices of bread which was what I wanted to begin with. Turned out really well and the little bit of chocolate gave it the perfect taste. Looks like I need to hit the store for brown sugar and nutmeg though- can't live without my staples. Overall a great base recipe- I just don't follow recipes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States