French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My fav french toast recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have to say this french toast is pretty good with syrup. Without the syrup, and even kind of with it, it doesnt offer a whole lot of flavor. Next time I might add a little more cinnamon to give it a little more flavor. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just like my dad makes! I never make french toast because it never works for me.. but this recipe is great. Like many reviews say, don't soak the bread for long -- just dip it and move it to the pan. If you soak it for too long, it gets mushy. I also left out the nutmeg completely per a few reviews, and it tasted great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StBernardMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very simple and very good! I cut the recipe in half, added some nutmeg and vanilla - excellent topped with butter and real maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I rather like this recipe and have made it several times. The only things keeping this from getting five stars are: (1) Perhaps I am soaking my bread too long, but there is no way I could get 12 pieces of bread dipped with the the amount of batter the recipe makes. I usually only get about 6 slices. (2) The recipe doesn't specify how long to cook other than until brown. It was a trial and error process the first time I made these to get toast that wasn't soggy. I have found medium-low heat for about 4 minutes on each side produces perfect toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I never use a recipe for french toast and that's probably why it never comes out very good :( I made this french toast this morning and I loved it. I used whole wheat french bread that I baked the night before and used a little less nutmeg than listed in the recipe (about 1/2 a teaspoon) and it turned out great. For my french bread sitting it in the bowl of egg mixture and letting it saturate worked well since the bread was quite dense. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a great french toast..quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lasalle, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this recipe like 4 times this month! Each time I've sub'd eggnog for the milk ('tis the season) and the first 3 times I forgot the nutmeg, however, when I made it for Christmas breakfast, I used freshly grated nutmeg - magnifico!! I think I could have eaten this without the syrup and it would have been tasty. This recipe definitely goes on the "hit" list. Once the holidays are over I'll try the recipe exactly as written, with milk not eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
So so so good! By mistake, I put pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon, but it turned out so good! I did use half and half instead of milk since I had some! I will for sure be using this recipes next time I make french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It was great it took me down memory lane when I was little and my grandma use to make these..enjoyed it just as if she did them...thanks its in my collection...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States