French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Danyka Lanae Ramos
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
So simple and yet delicious. I added cinnamon butter in the mixture. Amazing. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyka Lanae Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is just a simple recipe, and simple sometimes is best! If your family is fussy, leave out the nutmeg. Here is a note... ....Nutmeg contains small amounts of a drug called myristicin, which is chemically similar to mescaline, the active compound in peyote, and may be converted in the body to one of the related amphetamine-like psychedelics. Now back to the recipe....I let the slices of white bread "dry out" overnight so the bread is dry to the touch and it won't soak up as much egg mixture & get soggy or fall apart when picking it up out of the bowl. This also speeds up the cooking time since there is not as much egg to cook "in the bread" (A additional hint is to just use Cinnamon/Sugar mixture instead of adding brown sugar) Also for Diabetics use Spenda/Cinnamon mixture you can make right at home. Jim B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbrown_14105

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was actually pretty good. I was pleasantly surprised. I was afraid that the bread would get soggy, I only dipped hte bread in long enough to coat it, then cooked. That did the trick. The bread stayed more like bread on the inside. I even did one in a little more oil and they got slightly crunchy on the outside, my kids tore them up. Easy and simple lunch or breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I don't often like French Toast, but I enjoyed this! I used a heavy, whole grain bread and found it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome French Toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this recipe this morning! It was great. I used every ingredient listed. I only added a few small chunks of cream cheese to each slice and powdered the finished meal with powdered sugar. :)P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Brilliant Recipe!! I used multigrain bread & cut big slices.. I modified the recipe a little & used half a tea spoon of Vanilla essence & added freshly & coarsely ground cinnamon to the batter & no nutmeg.. Also I added an extra teaspoon of sugar.. All this tasted so awesome that i needed No maple syrup or honey on top :) My husband & i enjoyed it straight out of the pan.. Absolutely DELICIOUS!! Thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Turned out pretty good! I did add a little bit of Vanilla Extract to the recipe. I also used Texas Toast instead of regular white/wheat bread. The bread was not get soggy and did not fall apart when I used Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
It makes for a good amount to saturate the bread but it seemed like something was missing. I added an extra egg the second time and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Can home from a morning shopping excursion, hubby and I were hungry for something nurishing but light. I used 2 eggs, 1/3 cup milk, nutmeg and cinnamon, and 4 slices wholewheat bread.But the best part: I used my waffle maker to cook the toast.Easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States