French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I tried this recipe this morning and my Mom and I loved it. Just so you know, oil up the pan with butter. Don't go crazy with it. Just use 1 tbsp. of butter. I would love to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It was so easy and delicious!!! It made my kitchen smell like fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I have been making this recipe for years. I use thick sliced texas toast in this recipe and I leave out the nutmeg. Super good family favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love french toast, but couldn't remember the basic spice combo, so I found this one. I made a few adjustments, omitted the vanilla as I was out, added a dash of white sugar to give it some sweetness, and omitted the salt for diet reasons. Absolutely LOVED the end results. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Simple and delicious! I like to use french bread cut about 1" thick, and I've never had the "soggy" problem described by others. But then I quickly dunk the bread into the egg mixture, leaving it only long enough to cover the bread. Maybe the use of the word "soak" is confusing to some. I use only about 2/3 of the cinnamon called for and just under 1/2 of the nutmeg indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome simple recipe for French toast! I ended up using 1-week old stale multi-grain bread from Sprout's Farmers market and it worked out perfectly. I added some more cinnamon and nutmeg as well as cinnamon sugar to the recipe than called for due to personal taste. I think with seasoning it's all about what you want to taste, and since you're cooking yourself, you can add or take away spices as you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Chao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
It works every time. Its simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a favorite in our house, loved by all. I use challah bread. Add a few chocolate chips, fresh strawberries, a tiny amount of powdered sugar to make it pretty and a bit of grade a maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Best french toast recipe for sure. Nothing fancy, just a simple, delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent basic French toast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States