French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leslie Harris
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
WONDERFUL recipe! I doubled the cinnamon (leaving out nutmeg) & doubled the vanilla just becaise I like them a lot. With or without powdered sugar, this is yummy! I used whole wheat bread. You can really olay around well with this super great basic recipe! Oh yeah, I made these in a skillet w lots of real unsalted butter. Yes you do need a hot skillet so they won't stick. I had left over "batter" though I soaked the bread so I poured the rest over thr top of them in the skillet. It's better than oversoaking them and they falling apart before you get them into the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Followed recipe exactly. Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar while cooking. Grest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I like this recipes actually to those complaining this recipe is not meant to be "sweet" or really spicy however it is one you can play with add the stuff you like to it..Like all recipes they are a bases and you can then take out or add what you like..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
These turned out so good! I made them for Mothers Day and everyone loved them! I bought thick cinnamon swirl bread for French toast and used a little bit more cinnamon than the recipe called for. I also omitted the nutmeg and salt. I sprinkled some powdered sugar on top for decoration and then ate with syrup and made a fresh blueberry compote. Will definitely make again! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I tried this recipe this morning and my Mom and I loved it. Just so you know, oil up the pan with butter. Don't go crazy with it. Just use 1 tbsp. of butter. I would love to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It was so easy and delicious!!! It made my kitchen smell like fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I have been making this recipe for years. I use thick sliced texas toast in this recipe and I leave out the nutmeg. Super good family favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love french toast, but couldn't remember the basic spice combo, so I found this one. I made a few adjustments, omitted the vanilla as I was out, added a dash of white sugar to give it some sweetness, and omitted the salt for diet reasons. Absolutely LOVED the end results. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Simple and delicious! I like to use french bread cut about 1" thick, and I've never had the "soggy" problem described by others. But then I quickly dunk the bread into the egg mixture, leaving it only long enough to cover the bread. Maybe the use of the word "soak" is confusing to some. I use only about 2/3 of the cinnamon called for and just under 1/2 of the nutmeg indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome simple recipe for French toast! I ended up using 1-week old stale multi-grain bread from Sprout's Farmers market and it worked out perfectly. I added some more cinnamon and nutmeg as well as cinnamon sugar to the recipe than called for due to personal taste. I think with seasoning it's all about what you want to taste, and since you're cooking yourself, you can add or take away spices as you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Chao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States