French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great basic recipe! I used margarine on the pan instead of oil and I skipped the salt. For me this is a key step. I laid my bread slices on a cookie sheet and lightly dusted them with cinnamon on one side because the spice will stay put in the crannies and provide an even coat of flavor. Seems to me when the spices are in the milk mixture they tend to sink to the bottom of the bowl, clump or run to the sides when you dunk the bread in. After I spiced the bread on a cookie sheet I poured the milk,egg and vanilla mixture over it then flipped them to coat. They cooked up nicely on my preheated double burner pan. No sticking with the margarine and they were not soagy at all. Saved to recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Awesome. I used Raisin bread, vanilla and cinnamon. Very yummy. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a great, simple French toast. Has the right combination of spices that I was looking for. I doubled the recipe and used a loaf of day old French bread sliced 1" thick. The bread did not fall apart at all despite being soaked overnight. Instead of cooking on stovetop, I preheated my oven to 400, left a seasoned baking stone in during preheat and tossed these onto the hot stone for 3 minutes. I turned them over and baked for another 3 minutes and they came out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very soggy and very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe as it was written and it was terrific! Great flavor and simple ingredients that I already had. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I was craving something sweet and thought-- FRENCH TOAST! I've never made it before nor have I craved it after a great workout! bad idea, you say? Maybe, but I was on a mission to eat some.I followed recipe to the T. The first slice soaked up too much of the ooey goodness, so I figured the bread I used was just too poruous. I laid off the super soaking method so second slice came out great. My only other dilemma is I discovered I really h-a-t-e nutmeg...next time I'll omit this optional item, mhhh key word, right?! Live and learn. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a good recipe. It is simple to make and it uses ingredients that we always have in our kitchen. I thought the prescribed amount of nutmeg sounded like a little too much so I only used half the amount. The result was very tasty. Make sure you leave the toast on the griddle long enough to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made it today for my husband and I. I added some powered sugar before serving. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisy611

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Simple and yet sooo good. The kids loved it. Super simple with the ingredients already at hand. It worked with the HARDEST bread and it did not take long at all! I did use butter instead of oil and I do use almond flavoring with french bread usually, but I know vanilla is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It was very good. My two boys enjoyed them as well. When I asked if I should make it again they said YES! The only thing I did differently I added cinnamon directly on to the bread slices as they cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States