French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I had just made a white cake, so I had 4 egg yolks that I didn't want to go to waste. I had some french bread on hand too, and decided to try this recipe. I left the 4 yolks and didn't add any more eggs. It turned out excellent! I also found out that I was out of vanilla after I already mixed everything else together, and it was still very good. Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to scale down to one serving and makes a delicious, healthy breakfast, especially if you top it with unsweetened applesauce and cinnamon. (I used 1 egg, 3 T. skim milk, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 2 slices of 40 calories-per-slice bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I leave it about 2 to 3 minutes on each side to cook after putting butter on the grill:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The recipe is great, minus the nutmeg. I used less than asked and still had a very strong nutmeg flavor. Next time, I will eliminate it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The only problem with this recipe is that it has ruined my kids from eating any other French Toast anywhere! Don't be tempted to skip the optional ingredients - they all play an important role, even the salt which really acts to bring out all the other flavors. I always make a double or triple batch so I have a cookie sheet ready in 300 degree oven and I put each slice on it to keep warm as I continue to cook the rest. This is also a great technique if you find some of your toast is stil kind of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Our family loves this recipe! We make it with french bread and serve it up with Maple Agave Nectar for the syrup and a sprinkle of powdered sugar. Yum! We love making it and eating it together. Definitely a recipe you should try. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
love french toast. i am a 23 year old male and have started to take interest in cooking and this is a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Good as is. Simple and delightful. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very easy to make. The whole family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was a great quick and easy French Toast that both my boyfriend and I enjoyed! I included the cinnamon and vanilla, with no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States