French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Simple and delicious! I like to use french bread cut about 1" thick, and I've never had the "soggy" problem described by others. But then I quickly dunk the bread into the egg mixture, leaving it only long enough to cover the bread. Maybe the use of the word "soak" is confusing to some. I use only about 2/3 of the cinnamon called for and just under 1/2 of the nutmeg indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Awesome simple recipe for French toast! I ended up using 1-week old stale multi-grain bread from Sprout's Farmers market and it worked out perfectly. I added some more cinnamon and nutmeg as well as cinnamon sugar to the recipe than called for due to personal taste. I think with seasoning it's all about what you want to taste, and since you're cooking yourself, you can add or take away spices as you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Chao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
It works every time. Its simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a favorite in our house, loved by all. I use challah bread. Add a few chocolate chips, fresh strawberries, a tiny amount of powdered sugar to make it pretty and a bit of grade a maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Best french toast recipe for sure. Nothing fancy, just a simple, delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent basic French toast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I really liked this recipe a ton! I love how healthy it is and I've also added coconut oil to the skillet before making them its so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made it exactly as shown and it was delicious! I understand what you mean about covering them but they weren't really soggy just soft. In fact that's just the way i like them! I guess to each their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
The directions were only for a gas stove, and I have electric, but I guesstimated what a medium high flame looks like and settled at 5 on my stove. This seemed like a pretty standard French toast recipe, and that's how it turned out. I used butter flavored Pam and butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Delicious! A great taste of home while living overseas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States