French Toast Corners Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I like to make this using Texas toast, a thicker piece of white bread. Up the vanilla just a tad and sprinkled some sugar in the mix before dipping the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I haven't had French toast since I was a kid and I'd never thought of having it sweet. This was really nice - not too sweet or rich. I made it with bacon and maple syrup on top for a Valentine's breakfast and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Simple easy recipe. The flavor is nothing out of the ordinary, but it gets an extra star because the small size is great for little ones as well as fun and easy. I didn't really make any changes to the recipe other than to use wheat bread rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great recipe that's fun to do with kids! I used a pizza cutter to cut the bread and added some sugar to the egg/milk mixture along with a little nutmeg for good measure. Once they were done I topped them off with some confectioners' sugar and real maple syrup. There's nothing like really good french toast and orange juice to start your morning.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
YUM. I love french toast. This recipe was very good, I love the concept of french toast "corners". I won't ever make it differently. No children in our household but the adults liked it too! I found that the batter wasn't enough for 6 pieces of the bread I used. I added another egg and some milk towards the end because I ran out. However it could have been the excessively large pieces of bread I was using. Also I didn't use white bread. I used a 7 grain bread. We don't eat white bread in our family, but it was fabulous. Served it up with a side of bacon. w00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Principessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Made this for my husband and it was a hit! I cut the french toast after cooking it in diagonals using a pizza a cutter. Very quick & easy recipe that I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSunflwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Loved the taste, was a bit "fiddly" Next time would probably just cut in half instead of quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldenwookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Ever since my trip to Jamaica, I've wanted French Toast. This recipe is the closest to what I had there with one exception - I use the thick cut bread like they do in Jamaica. The bread gets less soggy and is easier to handle. This recipe is perfect in that there is no sugar added and only uses a few ingredients. I through everything in the blender and use a shallow dish for the bread. I've even mastered flipping the toast so I don't need any utensils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREKBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is such a good idea! Since seeing this recipe several years ago I cut my kids' toast into 4ths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I just made this for my husband and followed the directions. You really can use any bread you like, just remember to use a hot non-stick skillet with a tablespoon of butter. Mine did not come out soggy at all. I did heat 100% maple syrup in the microwave and did sprinkle the french toast with powdered sugar. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States