French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
5 stars after several changes. Melted 1/4 cup butter in bottom of the pan 1st. Added 1/3 cup bisquick to the egg/milk mixture. Used homemade white bread (no crust) and mixed it into the egg mixture. Then poured the mixture over the melted butter. Baked at 400 for 20-25 minutes. Served it topped w/ syrup and homemade sweetened whipped cream. One last thing, I dont appreciate the person who (just a few comments down) blasted people for commenting on ways in which they had to or wanted to change the recipe. FYI: some people dont always have all the exact ingredients on hand and have to improvise or sometimes they just change things because they feel like it; Nothing wrong with that! By stating these improvisations, they are helping other people who don't have all the exact ingredients on hand or helping the people who don't always want to follow recipes to the T. Once again, nothing wrong w/ that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
With some minor tweaking, I made this a "keeper". Deleted the margarine, added 1 1/2 cups more bread, 1/4 c brown sugar, 3 oz cream cheese and 1/4 c pankcake syrup. Also, doubled the cinnamon and added about 1 t nutmeg. Mix the cream cheese with the eggs, one at a time. Add in the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT the bread & mix well. Then stir in the bread and pour the mixture into a prepared 9X15 pan and let sit for about 15 minutes. (I used white sandwhich bread, lightly toasted. If you're using a hard, dry bread, overnight would be best.) Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. This came out perfect and my boys' finicky taste buds LOVED it! Additionally, I've made this with cinnamon raisin bread. Ooohh, YUM! A big hit at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
994 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
It not out of the oven yet but it smells and looks wonderful! For the cook who doesn't like people experimenting........honey, that is the heart and soul of cooking! I like the reviews because I can see what works and what doesn't and exchange ideas with other cooks. For the people who got soggy bread, try using larger chunks of bread and maybe a shallower pan like a large cookie sheet with sides. What I did: eyeballed the eggs and milk, yep I like to live dangeriously! Mixed up the custard in a measuring cup using 3 eggs to start and eyeballing the milk and sugar, used cinnamon and nutmeg, vanilla and a shot of brandy for extra flavor. Poured the custard over the bread in a bowl and mixed it with my hands to see how the dry/wet ratio was. Needed more wet so mixed another egg with a little milk and there you go! Placed it in a single layer in a greased pan, sprinkled on more sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg and drizzled with melted butter. This recipe is so versitle you could use egg nog in place of the milk for holidays or add cubes of cream cheese and or strawberry preserves for a stuffed french toast, even adding a little orange peel would change the flavor. Be creative, have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
827 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
haha! Now children please... I have been using this site for many years. I joined today because this discussion is so funny. Haven't made this recipe yet. May, may not. Looks like a 5 star to me though. Ok here are the facts: Reviewing a recipe which you have changed in not reviewing the recipe... I seldom follow a recipe exactly just because its the way I am. I like to play. The only way to review a recipe is to make it as its described and then rate it. If you change things the next time then say Its rated () as is but... I found it much better when I made it with "these changes". Or add a custom version to the custom version tab (should be obvious). Don't make changes and rate the recipe as you changed it because then its not the recipe we are evaluating and it isnt helpful to anyone and its then just an ego trip you are on. There is nothing wrong with suggesting alternatives that you like but its not fair to any of us if you rate anything other than the original... Sorry thats just the honest facts people. I do love to read about the alternatives don't get me wrong. I just don't like when a cook reviews the recipe based on those changes. By all means HAVE FUN and BE CREATIVE!!!! Haha..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this on Christmas eve day and brought it to my family's brunch on Christmas. So easy, so delicious, this was a favorite of everyone! All my sisters wanted the recipe. Next year I'll make a double batch. This will be served at our Christmas brunch every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was really good, and unlike other reviewers; we didn't have a problem with the middle of the casserole being goopy (although I did bake it for longer than suggested; 60 minutes). I changed the recipe only slightly, instead of adding 1 1/2 cups of milk, I added 1/2 cup of egg nog, about 1/4 cup of half and half cream (just to finish up what I had on hand), and topped it up with milk to equal 1 1/2 cups. The egg nog gave this dish an excellent flavour, next time I will add 1 cup of egg nog and the rest milk or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Pretty good. I had half a loaf of bread that was just about to go stale so I thought I'd give this a try. I sprayed the bottom of my pan with Pam for baking and left out the margarine. I added some nutmeg and a little more vanilla. This took over an hour to bake. But, even though it was a little mushy when I first cut it, I let it sit for about fifteen minutes (not intentional) and it firmed right up. I sprinkled a little confectioners sugar on top and served it with butter and maple syrup. It was even better the next day out of the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Fabulous! Definitely a hit with the kids. I've made this several times and it is so easy. A few times I have used the King's Hawaiian rolls and refrigerated overnight before cooking. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe was great... we loved it. I used one raisin bagel as part of the 5 cups of bread. Because the bagel was denser bread the liquid required was perfect. I also used 1/4 cup of French Vanilla coffee creamer to thicken the milk and give it more of a vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
It was pretty good and really easy. I made it in a 9*13 inch pan, it was all I had. It reminded me of rice pudding. without the raisains. It had a custardy feel and taste to it. I liked the top and sides. It also puffs too as it cooks. It fed 2 adults and one 5 year old and 2 2 year olds. My 5 year old who could live on "eggy bread" didn't care for it. The 2 year olds loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States